UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment

Notices

Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment For discussions about vintage test gear and workshop equipment such as coil winders.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 5th Feb 2011, 11:55 pm   #1
Bierschinken
Retired Dormant Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany.
Posts: 7
Default Advance H1E signal generator - info needed

Hi guys,

I've found this forum while googling for some information on my newest gear; an Advaced Electronics AF-signal generator "H1E".

I've already found a manual including a schematic but unfortunately my device has another circuitry than show in the manual.
The original H1E seems to be orking with octal tubes, where mine is working with novaltypes (EZ80 recti, 2x ECC88)

The ocsillator itself and the controls are basically the same, but the tubes are biased differently.

If anybody has some information on the generator or even the correct schematic, please let me know.

Thanks and sorry for my English

Swen
Bierschinken is offline  
Old 6th Feb 2011, 12:57 am   #2
AlanBeckett
Rest in Peace
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Burton upon Trent, East Staffordshire, UK.
Posts: 1,686
Default Re: Advance H1E signal generator - info needed

Swen,
Welcome to the Forum, and don't worry about your English.
I suspect that the Manual that you have is the original H1 - see attached. That had 2 6SN7s and a 6X5. Advance had a habit of keeping the basic number and adding a letter at the end as the design was updated. I would expect the circuit of yours to be very similar but with later valves.
I expect someone on here will have the information.
Alan
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	H1Front.jpg
Views:	408
Size:	53.8 KB
ID:	46252  
AlanBeckett is offline  
Old 6th Feb 2011, 2:32 am   #3
Bierschinken
Retired Dormant Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany.
Posts: 7
Default Re: Advance H1E signal generator - info needed

Hi Alan,

thanks for your kind words.

Very nice looking generator you got there. Mine looks very different, more "modern" in a way. Took a snapshot and attached it to this post. Don't worry, the chassis is still in perfect condition, I just opened it so I could trace the circuitry

And yes, you're right. The circuit is similar to "H1E"-Manual except for the tubes used.
If of any interest, I'll upload a drawing of the actual circuit and upload the manual I have.

Thx so far,
Swen
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Avance H1E.jpg
Views:	391
Size:	67.2 KB
ID:	46254  
Bierschinken is offline  
Old 6th Feb 2011, 10:52 pm   #4
WME_bill
Octode
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK.
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Advance H1E signal generator - info needed

Advance H1E. I have a manual which states that the H1 variants are for different mains voltages.
H1= 110-125, 210-250
H1/E= 110-125,140-160, 220
H1/NA= 115-120
You will be able to confirm that by inspection of your model. Please let us know what you find. Bill m0wpn
WME_bill is online now  
Old 6th Feb 2011, 11:00 pm   #5
Alistair D
Nonode
 
Alistair D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Edinburgh, UK.
Posts: 2,008
Default Re: Advance H1E signal generator - info needed

Have a look at this thread

https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...&highlight=h1e

Al
__________________
I won't tell you how I discovered that.
Alistair D is offline  
Old 6th Feb 2011, 11:04 pm   #6
Bierschinken
Retired Dormant Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany.
Posts: 7
Default Re: Advance H1E signal generator - info needed

Hi Bill,

my pt has several primary taps;
2X 0 - 115V and 0 - 240V

I'm running it with 0-240V on german 230V-wallvoltage.

Swen
Bierschinken is offline  
Old 6th Feb 2011, 11:06 pm   #7
Bierschinken
Retired Dormant Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany.
Posts: 7
Default Re: Advance H1E signal generator - info needed

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alistair D View Post
Thanks Al, I've found this thread earlier this evening. Seems as if Valveulate has the same signal generator that I got.

And yes, I can confirm, it's running on 1x EZ80 and 2x ECC88

Swen

PS: Sorry for the doublepost!
Bierschinken is offline  
Old 11th Feb 2011, 7:38 pm   #8
Bierschinken
Retired Dormant Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany.
Posts: 7
Default Re: Advance H1E signal generator - info needed

Hi guys,

I re-engineered the cicuitry and came up with the schematic shown in the attachement.
Think it's pretty close to the device but I will check for any mistakes again during the weekend.

Anyone see any mistakes or anything "weird"?

Swen
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	H1E Advance AF Generator.jpg
Views:	544
Size:	49.3 KB
ID:	46583  
Bierschinken is offline  
Old 21st Feb 2011, 7:01 pm   #9
Bierschinken
Retired Dormant Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany.
Posts: 7
Default Re: Advance H1E signal generator - info needed

Unfortunately no further comments here . . .

I tinkered a bit, replaced the electroytics and som drifted resistors. Then I fired it up and finally got a nice sine wave.
It had slight distortion on the positive peak, but I could get rid of that via the pot in the negative-feedbackpath.

Now the sine wave is perfect. No distortion detected on the scope up to 20Vpp signal.

Only the square was a bit harder. I got it down to this waveform . . .

http://www.bilder-hochladen.net/files/big/3rax-bm.jpg

Any ideas how to get rid of the small spike on the negative transient?

Swen
Bierschinken is offline  
Old 21st Feb 2011, 8:07 pm   #10
Sean Williams
Dekatron
 
Sean Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St.Ippolyts, Hitchin, Hertfordshire QRA IO91UW
Posts: 3,515
Default Re: Advance H1E signal generator - info needed

Adjust your scope probe compensation?

Seriously, I wouldn't worry about something like that on a generator of this age!

Cheers
Sean
__________________
Engineers make things work and have spare bits when finished
Sean Williams is offline  
Old 23rd Feb 2011, 10:04 pm   #11
Bierschinken
Retired Dormant Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cologne, Germany.
Posts: 7
Default Re: Advance H1E signal generator - info needed

Hi Sean,

It's not the scope probe, I checked it two times.
In general I'm pretty happy with the result since the sine wave is "perfect".

Just added a 3ยต3/250V cap between the output-pot and the multiplier-switch to keep DC away from the output in sine-mode.

Last Issue is the frequenciescales knob, I can't tighten it up onto the caps shaft. Anybody knw how to deal with that?

Cheers,
Swen
Bierschinken is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 7:57 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2023, Paul Stenning.