UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread

Old 23rd Mar 2010, 6:58 pm   #1
PlenumPete
Diode

Unhappy Tandberg TD 20A

Hello, a newbie here.

I've a 'vintage' hi-fi installation comprising Tandberg 3011, 3002, 3003 amps and TD 20A, a Denon DP 60L record deck and KLH1 speakers. The key component is the reel-to-reel TD 20A, and I've a big problem with it. The Playback Mode switch/circuit (Left, Stereo, Right) causes the Left channel to drop out on playback. I've had a look internally and the switch assembly is a sealed unit with its own PCB, so there is no possibility of giving the contacts a clean. I think the component is a Tandberg 'special'. Can anyone offer any advice?

Also the deck needs a thorough service and set-up, does anyone have contact details or recommendations for repairers with Tandberg experience in the UK?

Thanks.
Old 23rd Mar 2010, 10:02 pm   #2
rayr0683
Triode

Default Re: Tandberg TD 20A

Hello,
Fellow Tandberg lover here. I have 2 Reel to Reels of Tandberg. A TD20A, and a TD20A-SE, the SE is a 2 track, the 20A, is a 1/4track. I have the perfect guy here in the States for repair. He is the best, was Tandberg Authorized Repair in USA, and still does them complete. He also has alot of NOS Parts on hand, including heads. I had both my machines completelley restored to Spec by him, along with my Tandberg TPT-3001A Tuner. His work is great, and very reasonable. I have 2 other Reel Decks, an AKAI GX-747-DBX, and a TEAC X-2000R DBX. The Tandbergs are sonically the best decks.