UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Components and Circuits

Notices

Components and Circuits For discussions about component types, alternatives and availability, circuit configurations and modifications etc. Discussions here should be of a general nature and not about specific sets.

Closed Thread

Old 14th Sep 2008, 10:50 pm   #1
fuzziebro
Retired Dormant Member

Default S.R.C. capacitors

Hey guys,

I'm a newbie to this forum, hailing from NZ.

I recently purchased some NOS .01 uf 400v caps which look identical to the hallowed Phillips/Mullard "mustard" caps except they are blue. the only 'branding' on them is "S.R.C." I was wondering if anyone may have any more info on them as to who made them and when etc...

Thanks in advance...
Old 15th Sep 2008, 12:08 am   #2
Kat Manton
Retired Dormant Member

Default Re: S.R.C. capacitors

Hi,

They're likely to be some sort of 'polymer film' type of capacitor and thus likely to be fine. Old waxed paper capacitors deteriorate whether used or not and NOS ones shouldn't be used. Polymer film is much more stable and doesn't degrade, especially when the capacitor is encapsulated in some sort of epoxy resin (whether blue, mustard or any other colour is irrelevant.)

By the way, we tend to be a bit "no-nonsense" around here when it comes to "capacitors sounding different", we're mostly engineers who know better.

If they're the right value for your purpose and have a voltage rating sufficiently high enough for the application, use them.

Who made them, when they were made and what colour they are makes absolutely no difference to "what they sound like". The inductance of a capacitor is insignificant at audio frequencies and is only of concern when designing RF circuits.