UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > General Vintage Technology Discussions

Notices

General Vintage Technology Discussions For general discussions about vintage radio and other vintage electronics etc.

Closed Thread

Old 8th Feb 2008, 7:59 pm   #1
BakeliteBear
Pentode

Default Advice needed: working on mains valve radios.

Well, it’s like this ... I have a good ‘general’ education, I am a graduate in Design and have taught some electronics at GCSE level. I am pretty sound at basic electronics, but obviously nothing close to the standard of you boffins out there. I use a very nice and helpful radio repairman, but would like to be able to test out and make basic repairs. I have a book, which goes through the basics, but I would really like to avoid being killed!!

Any suggestions/advice about the real risks of working on mains valve radios. I am expecting a lot of ‘if you don’t know what you are doing leave well alone’ … well lets see. Thanks in anticipation.

Last edited by Darren-UK; 9th Feb 2008 at 1:18 pm. Reason: Title made more meaningful and search-friendly.
Old 9th Feb 2008, 9:26 am   #2
Brian R Pateman
Nonode

Default Re: Health and Safety!

Well this (On Paul Stenning's main site)

http://www.vintage-radio.com/repair-...ion/index.html

is a very good starting point. You will find a wealth of information in these forums and of course follow a few simple rules;

Switch off and unplug before fiddling with the innards,
Check that the chassis of "live chassis" sets is connected to neutral,
Keep one hand in your pocket when measuring voltages,

Remember, we all had to start somewhere so don't be afraid to ask.
Old 9th Feb 2008, 10:13 am   #3
Al (astral highway)
Dekatron