UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 7th Dec 2019, 5:39 pm   #1
Dodgy Geezer
Triode

Default Philips AG4126/7 blown thermistor

Hi,

I have an old portable Philips Diamond record player, with a blown component on the PCB. It's R24, which I believe is an NTC thermistor. I'm not that good at fault finding, so I was just going to replace it and see what happens, but before that I have a couple of questions for anyone who might be so kind as to help:

1 - Do thermistors come with different values?
2 - If so, what might the original AG4126 value have been?
3 - Does this blown thermistor indicate a fault elsewhere? I append a schematic (copied from elsewhere on this site - thanks to the uploader) for information

Hope someone can help,

DG
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Philips AG4126.jpg
Views:	176
Size:	60.8 KB
ID:	195010  
Old 7th Dec 2019, 6:55 pm   #2
Techman
Dekatron

Default Re: Phillips AG4126/7 blown thermistor

The first question I would ask is how do you know it's blown?

Post a picture of it for members to give their opinions.

If it's blown there's likely to be other faults.
Old 7th Dec 2019, 7:02 pm   #3
ms660
Dekatron

Default Re: Phillips AG4126/7 blown thermistor

Various Philips schematics suggest that it might be a BC/a130e...value on the schematics given as 130 ohms, rated at 1 watt, I can't be sure if that's the "cold" resistance or the "hot" resistance.

Apparently it's a disc type so it might be a case of the usual soldered wire connection(s) come adrift from the actual disc.

Lawrence.
Old 7th Dec 2019, 9:29 pm   #4
Dodgy Geezer
Triode

Default Re: Philips AG4126/7 blown thermistor