UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread

Old 15th Jun 2019, 12:32 am   #1
rje91717
Retired Dormant Member

Default Elizabethan Popular 200

Hi I am very new to Reel to Reel machines. I have just been given an Elizabethan Popular 200 from my grandparents, however am struggling to get it to work. I have opened it up and looked at it but I can't work out where to start, here is a list of issues that I can see:

- motor spinning fast as if stuck in fast forward only does one direction
- speaker seem to work but crackles no sound from tapes
- mechanical parts seem not to be in correct place not sure where they go
- belts seem worn but not sure where to get replacements and how

Any help on this would be much appreciated as I want to get this working so my grandparents can hear the tapes they recorded and haven't heard for over 50 years.

I can provide photographs but would need to know what you would like to see.

Thank you

Reece

Last edited by AC/HL; 15th Jun 2019 at 12:38 am. Reason: Email address removed.
Old 15th Jun 2019, 10:30 am   #2
Lucien Nunes
Rest in Peace

Default Re: Elizabethan Popular 200