UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Computers

Notices

Vintage Computers Any vintage computer systems, calculators, video games etc., but with an emphasis on 1980s and earlier equipment.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 15th Oct 2018, 11:52 am   #41
AC/HL
Moderator
 
AC/HL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Heckmondwike, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 6,475
Default Re: 486 PC. Keyboard problem.

As an aside, these commands work in W10 using powershell (right click the window icon)
if you want to follow this thread on a non-DOS machine.
__________________
Bill, BVWS member
AC/HL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th Oct 2018, 12:00 pm   #42
Station X
Moderator
 
Station X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, IP4, UK.
Posts: 13,706
Default Re: 486 PC. Keyboard problem.

I've made significant progress with this, so perhaps we could refrain from speculation until I can post a detailed update.
__________________
Graham. Forum Moderator

Keep the soldering iron hot.
Station X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Oct 2018, 12:45 pm   #43
Station X
Moderator
 
Station X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, IP4, UK.
Posts: 13,706
Default Re: 486 PC. Keyboard problem.

The com ports do require drivers. I think this applies regardless of the OS used.

The drivers are installed during the initialisation phase of the application software and confirmation of their installation is reported on screen. The problem was that the actual driver files weren't on the FD which had been produced from a download. The app didn't report this as a specific failure, but just aborted.

I added the driver files to the FD and they were installed correctly. Trouble is that, immediately after installing the drivers, the app still aborts with no reason given. At this point the mode command returns no useful information about the com ports and of course the echo command doesn't work.

I'll have to try a different approach like using another PC with three com ports, or perhaps trying to talk directly to the machine using say HyperTerminal.
__________________
Graham. Forum Moderator

Keep the soldering iron hot.
Station X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Oct 2018, 1:08 pm   #44
buggies
Pentode
 
buggies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: West Lothian, UK.
Posts: 218
Default Re: 486 PC. Keyboard problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Station X View Post
I'll have to try a different approach like using another PC with three com ports, or perhaps trying to talk directly to the machine using say HyperTerminal.
Direct to machine sounds interesting. I have tried using HyperTerminal in the past but soon gave it up. I recommend Brays Terminal 1.93b which has never let me down, can show a lot more information and has 24 macro commands that you can send with a single key.
https://sites.google.com/site/terminalbpp/

Out of interest, can you tell us anything about the machine and its software?
__________________
George
buggies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2018, 8:55 am   #45
mike_newcomb
Heptode
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West London, UK.
Posts: 577
Default Re: 486 PC. Keyboard problem.

Hi Graham, please see my suggestion in #33.

Without correct configuration, each end cannot handshake with each other, as both need be the same.

I suspect 6 data bits may have been used.
Possibly also XON/XOFF

If you can locate another user of the Machine, they should be able to advise on configuring etc., or if you have the original boot disk it should be possible to ascertain from there.

The correct Driver(s) are necessary whatever version of the os is being used.

Regards - Mike
mike_newcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2018, 1:55 pm   #46
cheerfulcharlie
Hexode
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Birmingham, West Midlands, UK.
Posts: 454
Default Re: 486 PC. Keyboard problem.

Hi Mike
rusty on this...but does a driver need to go into high memory which you do with the 'loadhigh' command?
cheerfulcharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2018, 2:36 pm   #47
AC/HL
Moderator
 
AC/HL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Heckmondwike, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 6,475
Default Re: 486 PC. Keyboard problem.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LOADHIGH
It may be necessary, if the application needs a significant part of the conventional space.
Dredging the grey cells here!
__________________
Bill, BVWS member
AC/HL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Oct 2018, 10:46 pm   #48
Station X
Moderator
 
Station X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, IP4, UK.
Posts: 13,706
Default Re: 486 PC. Keyboard problem.

I'm pleased to say that the problem is sorted and the machine is working.

Thanks to mike newcomb who put me on the right track.

I'll post a full report later.
__________________
Graham. Forum Moderator

Keep the soldering iron hot.
Station X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 9:27 am   #49
mike_newcomb
Heptode
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: West London, UK.
Posts: 577
Default Re: 486 PC. Keyboard problem.

Hi Charlie, I do not think it matters.

However, in the days of Steam Computing when memory was scarce, Loadhigh was used whenever possible.

This 'released / left' more conventional memory available for use when running:-

In DOS memory management, conventional memory, also called base memory, is the first 640 kilobytes (640 1024 bytes) of the memory on IBM PC or compatible systems. It is the read-write memory directly addressable by the processor for use by the operating system and application programs.

Regards - Mike
mike_newcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:27 am   #50
cheerfulcharlie
Hexode
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Birmingham, West Midlands, UK.
Posts: 454
Default Re: 486 PC. Keyboard problem.

Thanks Mike as I didn't remember how big driver files were in those days in comparison to what mem was available.

If Station X is going to be using Dos to keep his machine running then I seem to recall a marvellous little prog called XTREE which was like a sort of Windows GUI before Windows and had some powerful features over just staring at a black screen and typing in lines of characters.
cheerfulcharlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 1:35 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2018, Paul Stenning.