UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc

Notices

Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc Standards converters, modulators anything else for providing signals to vintage televisions.

Closed Thread

Old 10th Oct 2012, 3:13 pm   #1
Andy Doz
Hexode

Default FOTH on a Raspberry Pi

Would this be possible?

I can get linux to work on PC's, but I have little other experience.

I can code, but not in anything remotely suitable (a language called TSL, bespoke to stuff my company makes).

Any thoughts?
Old 10th Oct 2012, 4:44 pm   #2
julie_m
Dekatron

Default Re: FOTH on a Raspberry Pi

The problem is that the Raspberry Pi graphics "chipset" is highly proprietary, and will require some pretty severe reverse-engineering of the binary firmware to add new timings for new video modes.

Which being said, no-one should ever underestimate what can be done by a few million Freds in a few million Sheds, especially with a wiki. So, do hold your breath!
Old 10th Oct 2012, 4:51 pm   #3
paulsherwin

You can run a standard Linux distribution reasonably easily, but FOTH relies on manipulating the analogue outputs on the VGA interface to produce 405 line signals. The Raspberry Pi doesn't have this interface.

I'm far from being an expert on this though.
Old 10th Oct 2012, 5:38 pm   #4
julie_m
Dekatron