UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Telephony and Telecomms

Notices

Vintage Telephony and Telecomms Vintage Telephones, Telephony and Telecomms Equipment

Closed Thread

Old 10th Aug 2009, 9:03 am   #1
richwk1
Retired Dormant Member

Default 746 dial surrounds.

Hi there everyone, this is my first post so be gentle. I am new to these phones i have just bought a 746 in ivory and i am very pleased with my question is how do i change the outer dial surround mine is plain at the moment but i have an alpha numeric one. simple guide please i do repair computers but old phones are new to me. thanks in advance and a big hello to everyone Rich
Old 10th Aug 2009, 9:46 am   #2
Darren-UK
Retired Dormant Member

Default Re: 746 dial surround removal

Hi Rich,

Remove the casing; there's a single screw on the rear, release that (it's captive so shouldn't come completely out) then lift the casing off the chassis. It's a good idea to remove the dial finger plate first, I would add.

Next look underneath the case and you'll see the dial surround turns through 30deg, or thereabouts, then lifts off.

Regarding the dial finger plate; usually the casing will lift off with the plate in situ - but then you find it's a pain to replace the casing. To remove the finger plate; remove central label-cover insert, remove label, remove the single screw which will now be visible in the centre, then lift off finger plate. When replacing, do not overtighten that screw.
Old 10th Aug 2009, 9:53 am   #3
Nickthedentist
Dekatron

As Darren said, it's easy. Make sure the cutout for the finger stop is in the right place before re-fitting the case.