UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Closed Thread

Old 19th Aug 2018, 12:37 pm   #1
Ted's Dad
Retired Dormant Member

Default Sony Trinitron KV-1330UB, tuning knob

Hi all

I'm completely new to all this so apologies if I'm asking daft questions here.

We've just bought a set as above and the tuning knob turns OK but the numbers on the inner dial aren't moving. I assume there are two dials which aren't engaging for whatever reason. I would expect that the dial would just pull off but it isn't coming off easily and I don't want to risk breaking anything.

If anyone can provide any advice as to what might be going on and any solutions it would be much appreciated!
Old 19th Aug 2018, 7:33 pm   #2
julie_m
Dekatron

Default Re: Sony Trinitron KV-1330UB, tuning knob

Is it definitely not moving at all?

Usually on a rotary UHF tuner, there is a reduction gearing in operation: the outer ring has to make several turns to move the inner numbered disc around.
Old 19th Aug 2018, 8:29 pm   #3
Studio263
Octode

If you take the tuner apart you'll find an odd sort of reduction drive that gears the middle spindle to the outer one. This all has to work, or you can't tune the set into a picture. To make it smooth they smother the whole lot in sticky grease, so the first thing to do is to gently drip in WD40 (you need to take it apart remember - squirting it through the hole in the front won't help at all) to thin the goo a bit. This seems to work 9 times out of 10.