UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 15th Aug 2018, 7:05 pm   #1
Reidar5
Triode

Default Fuses keep blowing on Rotel RX400 amp

Hello,

I found this amplifier in a dumpster (Rotel rx400L). There are two 4amp fuses in it that have blown a couple of times now, after I replaced them.
Since both of them keep blowing simultaneously, I assume there's a short circuit in the transformer, and not that for example transistors in both channels are broken.

I'm a novice, and I wonder if anyone has any suggestions about what I can do to make the amplifier work again?

Regards Reidar
Old 15th Aug 2018, 7:26 pm   #2
turretslug
Dekatron

Default Re: Fuses keep blowing on Rotel rx400 amp

There are a few things that can cause this, but a classic fault is shorted diodes in secondary side rectifiers- I don't have the circuit to hand but I recall a similar fault in a Leak 3400 (badge-engineered Rotel) whose fuses were in either limb of the centre-tapped PA secondary. If you have a digital multimeter with a diode test function, this can be a convenient go/no-go in-circuit tester. This would be a "good news" sort of fault- something like shorted output transistors would be less good news.
Old 16th Aug 2018, 11:03 pm   #3
Reidar5
Triode

Default Re: Fuses keep blowing on Rotel RX400 amp

Hello,

thanks for your answer. I'm not able to locate the rectifiers you mentioned.
I'd be grateful, if you could locate them for me.

I send you the service manual with the wiring diagram (page 14) attached to this message.

Regards Reidar
Attached Files
File Type: pdf hfe_rotel_rx-400_400l_service_en_de_fr.pdf (1,013.4 KB, 348 views)
Old 16th Aug 2018, 11:14 pm   #4