UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 24th Nov 2020, 1:07 pm   #1
bobster151
Diode

Default Garrard RC80 - autochange issue

Hi,

I work in IT so am technical to a certain degree but I don't understand a lot of the terminology used here so please be gentle

I have a Ferguson 401RG radiogram with this turntable. It used to work Ok but intermittently had the issue with the stylus hitting the record then immediately rejecting similar to in this post

https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...43&postcount=4

I'm thinking it must be just a small adjustment needed somewhere but I don't know where to start. I have the service manual so if someone can point me to what I should be looking at that controls this function I would be immensely grateful.

cheers,

Bob
Old 24th Nov 2020, 2:07 pm   #2
PsychMan
Octode

Default Re: Garrard RC80 - autochange issue

Hi Bob,

You’re background is the same as mine, IT and technology initially, and now anything electro mechanical

Has this deck ever been mechanically overhauled? And if so, was it done properly? Every changer will need this at some point.

It’s not as hard as it sounds, I’ve learned how to do it myself through reading advice on here, and just getting stuck in and being persistent.

In summary, a fair bit of dismantling and taking pictures as you go (to aid re-assembly), cleaning off the old grease and oil, and selective reapplying of the right stuff during reassembly. Remember too much can be as bad as too little. Technically a lot of these decks will run ok dry, but obviously you want to minimise wear...