UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 29th Jun 2014, 7:29 am   #1
sooperrio
Retired Dormant Member

Default Ambassador 545

Hi Everyone,

This is my first post, I am looking for advice, so I hope you can help me!

I have inherited my dad's old Ambassador 545 radio/gramophone.

Unfortunately, it was stored in his shed and is looking worse for wear.
I would love to get it back to working order, but have absolutely no idea where to start.
Is it possible to replace all the parts on an old radio, if so, where do I start?

I realise this is a huge question, but I am a newbie, and at this moment, the project looks insurmountable!

Many thanks in advance for any help you can offer.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ambassador front.jpg
Views:	329
Size:	48.4 KB
ID:	94610   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ambassador Back.jpg
Views:	346
Size:	81.6 KB
ID:	94611  
Old 29th Jun 2014, 10:43 am   #2
Cobaltblue

Default Re: Ambassador 545

Welcome to the forum Sooperrio

Please pay particular attention to your safety there are lethal voltages inside these old sets.

I would start here

Paul has the service information for the Radio version here

Once you have made an assessment and carried out the basic checks the membership here will guide you through the process of restoring a nice little tabletop gram.

Cheers

Mike T

Last edited by Cobaltblue; 29th Jun 2014 at 10:45 am. Reason: Added safety info
Old 29th Jun 2014, 10:50 am   #3
stevehertz
Dekatron

That set doesn't look in bad condition TBH. You should see the condition of some of the sets that enthusiasts tackle!

Best of luck. Keep us informed, and ask questions.
Old 29th Jun 2014, 10:50 am   #4