UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 6th Dec 2018, 1:56 pm   #1
LyntonP
Hexode

Default Restoration novice. Philips B3G63A.

Last week I became the proud owner of a 1956 Philips B3G63A. Many thanks to Martin for the gift!
As an absolute novice to restoration of valve sets I have been reading many of the articles on this forum regarding what approach should be taken with regards to correct process (even the one that said don’t attempt a Philips as your first project!
I am now armed with an isolation transformer, several multimeters, a scope, a circuit diagram, several soldering irons, and at this stage some trepidation of the voltages I am likely to encounter.
The most common piece of advice I have read is don’t plug the set in until all the old capacitors have been changed.
On inspection nothing in the set seems to have suffered any significant damage but I understand that looks can be very deceiving. All I have done up to now is give the set a good clean.
On the subject of capacitors I can read their value from the circuit diagram but this gives no indication of their safe working voltage. As I said I am a novice and I suppose the more experienced members could look at a schematic and suggest the correct values of voltages throughout the circuit.
I am hesitant to go and buy components that will be at best unsuitable and at worst dangerous.
I have in the past constructed some simple equipment (RTTY terminal, dummy loads, power supplies etc) but never the restoration of old valve gear.
What advice would the forum offer? Are there any courses available as there used to be at local technical colleges when I sat my amateur exams over twenty years ago?