UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 25th May 2019, 10:33 am   #1
RobertF
Triode

Default Cossor 464

Hi,
I am a very amateur electronics enthusiast.
I am working on a Cossor 464 radio. I have replaced all the wax and electrolytic caps and a couple of resistors which were very high. I have now got some stations coming in on all three bands.

On MW I have got a good clear station coming in on the lower end of the scale but as I go up the scale, I get loud interference. Does this mean the set needs to be realigned?.
Looking at the schematics the I.F. alignment suggests adjusting the cores of L15, L14, L13, and L12 in that order. on the I.F cans I cannot see where to do those adjustments.
Can anyone with a bit more experience point me in the right direction, or is alignment the answer.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3924 (003).JPG
Views:	152
Size:	108.4 KB
ID:	183800  
Old 25th May 2019, 10:45 am   #2
Station X

Default Re: Cossor 464

Hello and welcome to the forums.

Attempting realignment is the very last thing to try. Try using an external aerial, if you're not already doing so, a few feet of wire will do. Clean the contacts of the wavechange switch with Servisol. Check voltages and compare them with the service sheet.

I can see what looks like an original electrolytic capacitor in your picture?

Reach for your meter before you reach for your soldering iron.
Old 25th May 2019, 11:08 am   #3
Sideband
Dekatron