UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Amateur and Military Radio

Notices

Vintage Amateur and Military Radio Amateur/military receivers and transmitters, morse, and any other related vintage comms equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 28th Feb 2009, 1:26 pm   #1
Enthusiast
Retired Dormant Member

Smile R1155 - guide to restoration

Has anyone published a recent step-by-step guide to restoring an 1155 - and if not, would anyone on the Forum like to collaborate in providing one?

I'm thinking in terms of covering everything from building an external psu/audio amp to intitial 'cold' tests on an unmodded 1155 through stage-by-stage 'hot' tests replacing caps, dodgy wiring etc

As a journalist, I could help with the words, if others could provide the technical knowledge.

I've recently unearthed an 1155L from a house-clearance - which looks complete (apart from DF valves and onnections between the df stage and front-panel meter balance/meter deflection contols) which could be used an an 'example'.

While there is a mass of material available about individual aspects of the 1155, a recent complete guide to restoration using easily available components seems lacking.

Given the continuing interest in the receiver (demonstated by crazy e-Bay prices...), there is surely a need for a complete simple-to-follow restoration guide? It needn't be 'restoration' to original spec (df functions could be ignored...) - more returning an iconic receiver to safe working order...

Comments gratefully received - either on the Forum or direct to my e-mail...

Enthusiast (David)
Old 28th Feb 2009, 2:51 pm   #2
MichaelR
Retired Dormant Member

Default Re: R1155 - guide to restoration

Hi,