UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Closed Thread

Old 15th Mar 2018, 9:16 pm   #1
nmiddlemass
Triode

Default Decca Colour DT1263 Microsystem Television - Colour Query

Hi.

I've recently been gifted a Decca Colour TV. The model number is DT1263 (This is the only number I can locate on the unit)

I'm not a television expert and cannot find an online service manual for this model so I'm hoping someone may be able to save me some trial and error.

The TV turns on OK.

However, the screen is a little dark unless I turn the brightness up to full but the main issue is that the picture looks like it has a yellow filter.

Any interference on no tuned channels has this yellow tint and when I turn the colour right down it still has this.

I have located the internal RGB adjusters but I'm not 100% sure adjusting this balance will fix the issue although I may be wrong.

Would anyone be able to provide me with any advice on what may be causing this?? Or is the tube just shot.. Would be a shame because the picture is nice just a bit yellow.

Thank you..
Old 15th Mar 2018, 10:00 pm   #2
simpsons
Octode

Default Re: Decca Colour DT1263 Microsystem Television - Colour Query

According to the webb, electrotanya model equivalent chart shows your TV as a 120 chassis.

Threads and a service manual are also easily obtained on the web. One such web site suggests early Mullard 20AX CRT's didn't last too long. However there is a bodge you will find.

As for adjusting RGB drives etc, I would not unless already twiddled and before you do make sure the tube is not suspect. Then, follow the service manual instruction.

Good luck

Chris
Old 16th Mar 2018, 1:56 am   #3
FERNSEH
Dekatron