UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 4th Jan 2017, 9:38 pm   #1
mark_in_manc
Octode

Default Arm mass (not tracking weight!)

Hi folks

I've been reading around a bit on hi-fi sites about ideas on arm mass, and how a small number is apparently a Good Thing (TM).

I'm open to this as a possibility - but also, I used to work as a noise- and vibration- control engineer, and I thought the system might lend itself to analysis with a simple lumped-element equivalent circuit model.

I did this (and if anyone really wants to see it, I'll post a pic of the filter circuit and maths). The result gave an open-circuit voltage output for a dynamic cartridge as a 2nd order hi-pass filter, with Q set by damping of the stylus-cartridge interaction and resonance set by the arm mass M and the stiffness K (or compliance 1/K, if you prefer) of the stylus mounted in the cartridge (in the normal f_res = 1/(2 pi) * sqrt (K/M) style).

If this is right, then a higher arm mass means a lower resonant frequency, and hence a flatter response through the bottom end of the band of interest / more bass extension. So why go for a lighter arm?
Old 4th Jan 2017, 9:48 pm   #2
PJL
Dekatron

Default Re: Arm mass (not tracking weight!)

Records are not perfectly flat and you actually want a constant distance between the cartridge and the record. Some of my records are far from flat . It would be interesting to work out what the roll-off frequency is for a very low mass arm.
Old 4th Jan 2017, 9:59 pm   #3
Ted Kendall
Dekatron