UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Amateur and Military Radio

Notices

Vintage Amateur and Military Radio Amateur/military receivers and transmitters, morse, and any other related vintage comms equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 28th Dec 2016, 9:04 pm   #1
RedhillDave
Retired Dormant Member

Default R103A receiver, T1154B transmitter

Hi all,
I am new to this forum, having just acquired an R103A receiver and T1154B transmitter from a relative (an ex amateur, now in his 90's but still sharp as ever).
I am a licensed amateur (M0WID) of about 6 years, and really am an amateur - electronics is not my profession so everything is a learning experience - which to me makes it more fun. I have some experience building things from kits or existing designs, but not in circuit design and especially not valve gear, even though my main rig is a Trio TS530S hybrid.

The receiver and transmitter have been stored in an outhouse for many years. The transmitter I think is as original but the receiver has been heavily modified. The relative owns up to modifying it to receive MW broadcasts.
I have Googled The R103A and found very little information about it, so if anyone does know anything that would be useful. It does not look very much like an R103. I will try and post a photo or two.

Never having attempted to bring something like this to life before, I am wondering:
A) - is it worth it? I think it is as I will learn a lot doing it. I will tackle the receiver first as I think getting the transmitter going should not be too difficult, other than sorting out some sort of power supply. It would be nice to show it working to the relative who kindly gave it to me.