UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 2nd Jun 2019, 6:51 pm   #1
Viscount
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Kent, UK.
Posts: 72
Default Leak Delta 30.

Once again I'm on here with the Leak Delta 30, sounds great apart from one fault, the amount of bass produced by both channels is unequal. I thought at first it was a speaker problem, but after swapping them over it's still the same. Has anyone had the same problem, or know what the problem could be?
Viscount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jun 2019, 7:07 pm   #2
Radio Wrangler
Dekatron
 
Radio Wrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Fife, Scotland, UK.
Posts: 12,112
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

Sounds like a dried-up electrolytic capacitor somewhere.

Some detective work trying it switched to mono and also trying tape inputs may reduce the acreage to search.

The 'good' channel might not necessarily be right, just better. A good going over with an ESR meter would be the best approach.

David
__________________
Can't afford the volcanic island yet, but the plans for my monorail and the goons' uniforms are done
Radio Wrangler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jun 2019, 7:14 pm   #3
Electronpusher0
Hexode
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Bognor Regis, West Sussex, UK.
Posts: 361
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

I gave in and changed all the electrolytics in my son's Stereo 30, as well as the front end resistors for low noise types..., and the volume control.... and the tape monitor switch.
Why do I bother?

Peter
Electronpusher0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jun 2019, 7:26 pm   #4
Trevor
Heptode
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Stoke on Trent, Staffs, UK.
Posts: 687
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

Because like me you love it
Trev
Trevor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jun 2019, 8:17 pm   #5
Viscount
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Kent, UK.
Posts: 72
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

Thanks for the advice, will let you all know how I get on.
Viscount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jun 2019, 10:20 pm   #6
Sideband
Dekatron
 
Sideband's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Croydon, Surrey, UK.
Posts: 5,276
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

The left and right channel modules could be swapped over to see if the fault changes channels. If it does then clearly the fault is on the module. I have the Delta 70 which is basically the same circuit and it did benefit from electrolytic changes in both modules.
__________________
On Spike Milligan's headstone......I told you I was ill...
Sideband is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd Jun 2019, 11:03 pm   #7
Radio Wrangler
Dekatron
 
Radio Wrangler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Fife, Scotland, UK.
Posts: 12,112
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

Another way of looking at it is to say that all the capacitors are the same age, from the same batches and have experienced the same environment for all those years, so you could justify a pre-emptive strike.

People's opinions differ in this area.

David
__________________
Can't afford the volcanic island yet, but the plans for my monorail and the goons' uniforms are done
Radio Wrangler is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jun 2019, 11:34 am   #8
Viscount
Tetrode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Kent, UK.
Posts: 72
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

OK so have just tried it on mono and the problem is still there, next is to swap cards over, it would appear that one channel is producing less bass than it should, sorry the replies are taking a while but a lot on at the moment ,will post soon with more results.
Viscount is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Jun 2019, 9:58 am   #9
dave cox
Octode
 
dave cox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 1,275
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

This amp has output capasitors so it is possible that one of these is defective, it looks like these are NOT mounted on the power amp board so it you swap the boards and nothing changes then they are still a candidate (as are the switches / headphone socket etc).

dc

EDIT forget about the headphones socket, it's not switching
dave cox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jun 2019, 10:33 pm   #10
martin.m
Pentode
 
martin.m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Bishop Auckland, County Durham, UK.
Posts: 235
Default Re: Leak Delta 30.

Just spotted this thread. I have a Leak Delta 30 and am investigating a similar problem. My RH channel is quieter than the Left and slightly lacking in bass. If you have a CD player try connecting it to the tape replay input then listen with the front panel "Replay" button pressed in. This bypasses the preamp and tone control circuitry by feeding the signal directly to the Leak's power amp circuits. If the performance is restored, then the problem lies in the preamp circuits. The Delta 30 is over 45 years old now and some of the electrolytic capacitors are likely to have deteriorated.
__________________
Regards
Martin
martin.m is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 8:25 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Paul Stenning.