UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Success Stories

Notices

Success Stories If you have successfully repaired or restored a piece of equipment, why not write up what you did and post details here. Particularly if it was interesting, unusual or challenging. PLEASE DO NOT POST REQUESTS FOR HELP HERE!

Closed Thread

Old 9th Sep 2006, 5:20 pm   #1
howard
Nonode

Default RRR Selga 402 8 transistor pocket radio Latvia ca 1970

Hello,

As you all know I have a penchant for radios built in the former Soviet Union, probably cos they nearly always work well .... which is probably just as well as spares and information on these sets is hard to find (and I'm not that good at diagnosing electronic problems any way). I have in my collection several unused Soviet sets still in their original boxes but this little £5 Selga 402 came well used. Even so, on arrival it was working OK, obviously needing a little switch cleaner to the waveband switch and off/on/vol pot but cosmetically it was grubby and the chrome was a little pitted so needed a good clean and polish. The leather carry case had survived well, hardly any signs of wear and all stitching intact .... as usual with leather cases made in the SU.