UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment

Notices

Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment For discussions about vintage test gear and workshop equipment such as coil winders.

Closed Thread

Old 2nd Feb 2020, 1:39 pm   #1
ajgriff
Nonode

Default Leaded Solder Made in China

For a while I’d been thinking about buying in an additional stock of leaded solder. I still have a small supply of good quality Multicore (Ersin) but may not have enough to see me out. With the tightening regulations regarding the sale of leaded solder and the steadily rising price of the product I thought about trying one of the versions manufactured in China. However, when I studied some of the reviews and videos on the internet I was more than a little put off by comments like ‘appalling’, ‘unusable’ and ‘not fit purpose’. I thought then that the likely culprit for the poor reviews was an inadequate flux content which might be overcome with a little rosin dissolved in meths or IPA and applied separately. Loctite Multicore is generally specified as having 3% rosin based flux whereas most solder of Chinese origin seems to contain 2% flux (type unspecified). It’s worth bearing in mind that my potential purchase was only intended to provide a longer term back up for my existing supply of decent solder.