UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 18th Jan 2021, 4:52 pm   #1
matthew.roberts
Diode

Default Garrard SP25 MKV speed selector

Hi all
Newby here - I bought a Hitachi SDT 787820R just like my Dad's back in the 70s/80s for nostalgia reasons and als to use it!
So the record deck is stuck on 33 speed. The switch works nicely and I can follow the poles and connectors right round to the opposite corner of the unit, all moving nicely with the move of the switch, but I can't see a reason why it's not switching the motor to 45. However being a noob I don't know how the motor is finally switched to 45 at the end of all the poles and connections.

I had the motor out and can't see anything much to play with there.
I added a couple of photos, as I say the swicth moves the poles right round to the close up photo and moves the little plate into two different posssible positions

Any help greatly appreciated.

Thanks
Matthew
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image0 (12).jpg
Views:	81
Size:	60.5 KB
ID:	224864   Click image for larger version

Name:	image1 (5).jpeg
Views:	83
Size:	138.3 KB
ID:	224865  
Old 18th Jan 2021, 5:17 pm   #2
snowman_al
Octode

Default Re: Garrard SP25 MKV speed selector

Surely the motor spins at the same speed all the time.
Its the position of the belt on the motor shaft that changes the speed... and that is what the 'switch' should move ie. the belt.

Hi and welcome by the way, Alan

Last edited by snowman_al; 18th Jan 2021 at 5:25 pm. Reason: Welcome
Old 18th Jan 2021, 6:19 pm   #3
matthew.roberts
Diode