UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Components and Circuits

Notices

Components and Circuits For discussions about component types, alternatives and availability, circuit configurations and modifications etc. Discussions here should be of a general nature and not about specific sets.

Closed Thread

Old 16th Sep 2016, 12:25 pm   #1
Spxleisure
Retired Dormant Member

Default Damaged speaker. Repair or replace?

Hi another newbie here.

I am thinking about restoring an old Bush valve amp radio. I have a small tear in the speaker paper and wondered whether it's worth sourcing a comparable speaker or going for something new. (see photos) must await advice, do not know where to start really.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	291
Size:	83.4 KB
ID:	130164  
Old 16th Sep 2016, 1:11 pm   #2
Stuart R
Heptode

Default Re: Damaged speaker. Repair or replace?

Hello and welcome!

I've never done it, but search on this forum and people have done successful loudspeaker cone repairs with tissue paper and PVA glue, I think.

How far on with your project are you? That looks like it could be a Bush DAC90A and there could be other components need replacing before you get any sound at all out of the speaker if the set has not been used for a while.

If it is a DAC90A or similar set are you aware of the safety issues associated with the 'Live Chassis' design? There are two ways that the mains lead can be attached, choose the wrong way and all the metalwork of the radio will become live and potentially lethal. Get that bit right there are plenty of parts on the set that can give you a surprising nip if you know what you're doing - even with the set unplugged.

Sorry if this is teaching you to suck eggs, but I'm basing this answer on "do not know where to start".