UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 23rd Sep 2018, 4:28 pm   #1
my quest
Diode

Default Bush SRP31 cartridge and stylus

Hello everyone. I'm a newbie here to this super site! And I apologise if this question has already been answered before...

I'm in the process of re-commissioning my vinyl collection and hardware.
I have taken my old Rotel RP3000 out of mothballs and set that up with my hifi system - and that's working fine for my own stereo vinyl collection.

However... seveteen years ago, I inherited from my late father-in-law his collection of LPs (mono and stereo) and 78s (approx 600 or so). He bought these mainly from charity shops and car boot sales etc., so they haven't been kept meticulously. They have languished in my loft since then, while I re-purchased my favouite music on CD, haha....LOL. Anyway - now I have two very young grand-daughters and I want them to be experience the joys and fun of vinyl rather than just their digital world of Spotify and Sonos.

I've purchased a very nice Bush SRP31 with Garrard 210 autochanger - to play my father-in-laws collection - and to let our girls do so when they are old enough.

And this is where I need help and advice please. The SRP31 would have come originally with a mono cartridge, I believe. I've read here in old posts and from the Garrard service sheets that in order not to damage stereo records, a stereo compatible cartridge and stylus is required. The existing cartridge doesn't appear to have a model number but the flip under stylus has LPS in black on one side and LPS ST15 in orange on the other... and as you can see from the photo, there has been some soldering... :-(