UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 12th Mar 2011, 3:23 pm   #1
Graham-R
Pentode

Default Wireless set recommendations please

Hello all

I am interested in getting a quality wireless set in a few months time, so I thought I would get some ideas now. I would like a set from (ideally) the 1930's or perhaps the 1940's, but I am not an expert in such things (MW & LW ?) - so would really appreciate some suggestions.

As it could get quite a lot of use it will need to be reliable and use parts that are still readily available or easily repairable. Size is not too much of a problem, table size is ideal.

Please suggest your favourite sets !

Thanks

Graham
Old 12th Mar 2011, 3:29 pm   #2
Boom
Retired Dormant Member

Default Re: Wireless set recommendations please

If your budget will stretch to it I'd go for a round Ekco. It would be an investment as well as a functional reliable nice looking set. A DAC90A would also be very reliable if you don't mind straying into the 50s. Personally I would avoid the earlier DAC90 if the set is to be used a lot due to the heat they generate.
Old 12th Mar 2011, 3:40 pm   #3
Patrick Dixon
Hexode

From the 40s you might consider a RAP646 - performs quite well, chrome chassis and glass back for added bling, and easy to fix and maintain. The bad news is that the last one that sold on eBay went for more than £200.

If you're prepared to consider the 50s, the Pye Fenman II is quite good, and you get VHF thrown in as well.
Old 12th Mar 2011, 3:54 pm   #4
MichaelR
Retired Dormant Member

I would agree with Dave , a round ecko "would set any room off" . Even SWMBO would agree I think.

Mike
Old 12th Mar 2011, 4:09 pm   #5
Leon Crampin
Octode