UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27th Jul 2021, 7:12 pm   #1
bobhowe
Hexode
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 463
Default Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

Hi did the Bush DAC90A have the white plastic Royalty licence plate fitted and where was it located on the cabinet or the Chassis ? kind regards Bob
bobhowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2021, 7:15 pm   #2
Nickthedentist
Dekatron
 
Nickthedentist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oxford, UK.
Posts: 15,714
Default Re: Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

I’ve never seen one, surprisingly.
Nickthedentist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2021, 7:33 pm   #3
rambo1152
Nonode
 
rambo1152's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 2,906
Default Re: Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

Sometimes they are on the inside of the back cover; but no, neither my DAC90 nor my DAC90A have one in evidence.
__________________
--
Graham.
G3ZVT
rambo1152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2021, 7:36 pm   #4
ms660
Dekatron
 
ms660's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cornwall, UK.
Posts: 11,363
Default Re: Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

Yes, both the DAC90 and the DAC90A, cabinet in the DAC90A and chassis on the DAC90.

Lawrence.
ms660 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2021, 7:40 pm   #5
bobhowe
Hexode
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 463
Default Re: Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

Hi Nick remember seeing them on radiograms can not remember the make Grundig sets had one i am sure HMV radios as well kind regards Bob
bobhowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2021, 7:47 pm   #6
bobhowe
Hexode
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 463
Default Re: Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

Hi Graham none on any of my DAC90A i have 4 . Hi Lawrence where in the cabinet are they located ? is it on the top RHS viewing from the rear if so my Ivory one has a small amount of adhesive located not for from the mains dropper kind regards Bob
bobhowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2021, 7:47 pm   #7
ms660
Dekatron
 
ms660's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cornwall, UK.
Posts: 11,363
Default Re: Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobhowe View Post
Hi Lawrence where in the cabinet are they located ? is it on the top RHS viewing from the rear if so my Ivory one has a small amount of adhesive located not for from the mains dropper kind regards Bob
Can't remember off hand.

Back in the day in the trade we used to collect them to make smoke bombs.

Lawrence.

Last edited by ms660; 27th Jul 2021 at 7:51 pm. Reason: extra info
ms660 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2021, 8:52 pm   #8
bobhowe
Hexode
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 463
Default Re: Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

Hi Lawrence you are indeed correct about the DAC90 there is a Royalty plate secured to the chassis just looked on my 1946 DAC90 and it is worded differently to any i have seen. If on the DAC90A it is glued inside of the cabinet next to the mains dropper it would fall of due to the heat of the mains dropper kind regards Bob
bobhowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2021, 9:28 pm   #9
Paul_RK
Dekatron
 
Paul_RK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Fakenham, Norfolk, UK.
Posts: 3,280
Default Re: Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

Just checked a couple of 90As here: a cream one has some black adhesive residue inside its case quite close to the mains dropper, and the late "milk chocolate" one (was factory-painted cream, but much of the paint had peeled off: knobs are cream) still has its licence plate in the same position.

Paul
Paul_RK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2021, 10:06 pm   #10
FERNSEH
Dekatron
 
FERNSEH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Gateshead, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 6,754
Default Re: Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

Bob's DAC90 license plate.

DFWB.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN0420.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	77.1 KB
ID:	238338  
FERNSEH is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2021, 10:10 pm   #11
bobhowe
Hexode
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 463
Default Re: Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

Hi Paul my cream one has the residue like yours .Looked on the back of my AC91 and it has is Licence on the chassis as well an it made wonder why they could not do that on the DAC90A .Then i looked at a DAC90 the chassis it is shallower than the DAC90 / AC90 & there is not enough room to put it above the serial number & the alignment holes beside the serial number so there is not enough room for it there kind regards Bob
bobhowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Jul 2021, 10:19 pm   #12
bobhowe
Hexode
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 463
Default Re: Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

Hi thanks David for kindly posting my picture notice the wording is different than British Eireann version kind regards Bob
bobhowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2021, 12:20 am   #13
rambo1152
Nonode
 
rambo1152's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 2,906
Default Re: Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

Bob, you may be interested in this thread I started a few years ago.
https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...d.php?t=145428
__________________
--
Graham.
G3ZVT
rambo1152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2021, 4:18 pm   #14
bobhowe
Hexode
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 463
Default Re: Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

Hi Graham very interesting did not know there were different versions of Royalty plates . Just seen a DAC90A for sale on the internet & the Royalty Licence plate is stuck on the back but it looks like its out of shape of been next to the mains dropper and it has fell out of the set & it has been glued there . This set looks like is has not been used for a long time as it has a Bayonet type plug on the mains lead that would plug in a lamp socket kind regards Bob
bobhowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2021, 6:32 am   #15
stitch1
Heptode
 
stitch1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Durham, County Durham, UK.
Posts: 690
Default Re: Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

My DAC90A still has the licence plate in place and as far as I can tell is original.

John
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	82CC8641-F601-42E8-978C-B4165410C1D7.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	50.2 KB
ID:	238393  
stitch1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2021, 2:28 pm   #16
bobhowe
Hexode
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 463
Default Re: Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

HI John that is the exact spot where the adhesive mark is on my ivory DAC90A . look how close it is next to the mains dropper no the wonder they fall off and get lost with the heat thanks for posting picture as i will put a Royalty plate back on kind regards Bob
bobhowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2021, 4:45 pm   #17
stitch1
Heptode
 
stitch1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Durham, County Durham, UK.
Posts: 690
Default Re: Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

I'm surprised this one is still there, maybe it hasn't had much use but the discolouration suggests otherwise.

John
stitch1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2021, 5:34 pm   #18
bobhowe
Hexode
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 463
Default Re: Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

Hi John i have 4 complete DAC90A & none of them have a Royalty Plate 1 set is 1951 2 sets are 1952 & the last set is 1956 they must have had a lot of use as the Royalty plates are missing on all of them . What year is your set? if it has had any repairs in its early working life the plate might have been re glued kind regards Bob
bobhowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2021, 6:12 pm   #19
stitch1
Heptode
 
stitch1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Durham, County Durham, UK.
Posts: 690
Default Re: Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

Hi Bob, Iím not sure of the exact date, as far as I remember it was all original. This is the serial number Ö
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	EBC0E227-0ECB-4045-BE3B-3C41B144663F.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	104.1 KB
ID:	238434  
stitch1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2021, 6:40 pm   #20
bobhowe
Hexode
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Sunderland, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 463
Default Re: Did The Bush DAC90 Have A Royalty Licence Plate ?

Hi i have a set serial number 214265 & the BEC smoothing capacitor is original & the date on it is March 56 so i would guess your set is about late 53 or early 54 . if the capacitor has not been changed loosen the securing clamp and lift the capacitor up slightly and you will see the date i would say Bush used a huge amount of capacitors from BEC so they would have put them in the sets not long after the capacitor was made i will start a new thread about BEC Capacitors kind regards Bob
bobhowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT. The time now is 11:12 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2021, Paul Stenning.