UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th Aug 2019, 2:42 pm   #1
CHRIS_F
Triode
 
CHRIS_F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Merseyside, UK.
Posts: 44
Default Hitach TRK-3D30E Help!

HI All,

I would like to have a go at restoring My Hitachi TRK-3D30E Cassette Boom Box (Is this in the right section?) the obvious faults I can see are.

1. The Aerial needs replacing.
2. The drive belts have turned to rubbery mush.
3. Deck one emits a high pitch wine/screeching sound through the speakers.

The Aerial is the least of my worries, but if anyone knows of a good source that would be great, how do I find the belt sizes for the 4 belts? I have looked in the service manual but it doesn't give any sizes and the old belts are not there they are just rubbery sticky bits of goo, they are also hard to reach to clean. I see there are some belts kits available from Germany but the price is quite high including postage, is there a UK source for them?

How do I start to diagnose the high pitched squeal, what's the most likely cause? I have a multi meter and can solder quite well so replacing parts is not a problem.

Regards,
Chris.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Front.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	69.9 KB
ID:	187993   Click image for larger version

Name:	Top.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	65.6 KB
ID:	187994   Click image for larger version

Name:	Back.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	42.2 KB
ID:	187995  
CHRIS_F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th Aug 2019, 4:03 pm   #2
Nickthedentist
Dekatron
 
Nickthedentist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oxford, UK.
Posts: 14,266
Default Re: Hitach TRK-3D30E Help!

Try cleaning the sliding record play/record switch before investigating the squealing in depth.

Insert a blank cassette, go from record+play to stop a dozen or so times, and see if it's any better. If not, squirt some Servisol Super 10 switch cleaner into the actual switch on the PCB (follow the linkages from the buttons), taking care it doesn't get onto the decks themselves, and repeat.

Good luck,

Nick.
Nickthedentist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2019, 1:50 am   #3
CHRIS_F
Triode
 
CHRIS_F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Merseyside, UK.
Posts: 44
Default Re: Hitach TRK-3D30E Help!

I found some screws that I was not aware of, they were covered in gunk, once out I got good access to everything, I'm not sure what the Squealing sound was but once I opened everything up it stopped. That is the end of the good news though, once Dismantled for cleaning, it looks like some caps may have leaked and there is some quite bad PCB damage, looks like I've got some work on my hands repairing this one
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Damage 1.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	121.3 KB
ID:	188061   Click image for larger version

Name:	Damage 2.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	166.7 KB
ID:	188062  
CHRIS_F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2019, 1:55 am   #4
CHRIS_F
Triode
 
CHRIS_F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Merseyside, UK.
Posts: 44
Default Re: Hitach TRK-3D30E Help!

Once I clean the PCB up is it ok to squirt those sliding pots with switch cleaner I've never seen this type before or is there any suitable lubricant for them?

Does anyone know what the belt sizes are for this model Hitachi TRK 3D30E, if not at least what the width is or are they square etc?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Sliding pots.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	100.9 KB
ID:	188063  
CHRIS_F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th Aug 2019, 11:24 am   #5
Chris55000
Heptode
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Walsall Wood, Aldridge, Walsall, UK.
Posts: 712
Default Re: Hitach TRK-3D30E Help!

Hi!

I've just bought a 3D50E that appeals condition-wise & price-wise to me and appears very similar externally, so I'll let you have belt details & any other help you need when it arrives!

Chris Williams
__________________
It's an enigma, that's what it is! This thing's not fixed because it doesn't want to be fixed!
Chris55000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Aug 2019, 6:56 pm   #6
CHRIS_F
Triode
 
CHRIS_F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Merseyside, UK.
Posts: 44
Default Re: Hitach TRK-3D30E Help!

Thanks Chris, That would be great

I have cleaned the PCB up a bit, I tried IPA but it just turned into a sticky mess, I'm guessing it just reacted with the old flux, so I had to use fairy liquid and water with a toothbrush, (I know it really should have been de ionized/distilled water, but I didn't have any to hand), it cleaned up nicely and then I sanded the black damaged traces with a nail file and laid some solder over the cleaned traces to protect it a bit, one of the traces was so thin it lifted, so I had to use a jumper wire, I haven't finished the PCB yet there are a few small traces left to do, then I'll re cap it before going any further
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7038.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	122.4 KB
ID:	188155  
CHRIS_F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Aug 2019, 11:51 pm   #7
John123
Heptode
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Luton, Bedfordshire, UK.
Posts: 627
Default Re: Hitach TRK-3D30E Help!

For the belts, you can simply tie some string or dental floss around the pulleys, remove, and then measure the diameter to get a rough approximation. Universal belt kits are available, and often don't cost as much as dedicated belt kits, but you always run the risk of a missing size.

Best to stick to a reputable source as often very cheap kits from China are sometimes made up of substandard rubber, possibly offcuts from other things. They can be misshapen and uneven across their length which will invariably lead to all sorts of wow/ flutter issues.
__________________
Regards,
John
John123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Aug 2019, 1:18 am   #8
CHRIS_F
Triode
 
CHRIS_F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Merseyside, UK.
Posts: 44
Default Re: Hitach TRK-3D30E Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by John123 View Post
For the belts, you can simply tie some string or dental floss around the pulleys, remove, and then measure the diameter to get a rough approximation. Universal belt kits are available, and often don't cost as much as dedicated belt kits, but you always run the risk of a missing size.

Best to stick to a reputable source as often very cheap kits from China are sometimes made up of substandard rubber, possibly offcuts from other things. They can be misshapen and uneven across their length which will invariably lead to all sorts of wow/ flutter issues.
Thanks John,

Do you have any links to reputable sources for the belts? I usually use ebay for everything but try to stay away from Chinese sellers where possible.
CHRIS_F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Aug 2019, 1:24 am   #9
CHRIS_F
Triode
 
CHRIS_F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Merseyside, UK.
Posts: 44
Default Re: Hitach TRK-3D30E Help!

I was looking at the service manual and it says C516 should be 47uf 10 v but on my board C156 is a 4.7uf 50 v what is more likely someone putting the wrong part in on the production line or the parts list being wrong even a previous repairer being wrong? It also says in the manual that C514 L & R should be present but they are not on my circuit board not even printed where they should be, I wanted to replace all the electrolytic capacitors but unsure what to do in this case, normally I don't think I'd replace all of the capacitors, but as there was a lot of damage on this board, I think it's best to replace them.
CHRIS_F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Aug 2019, 6:17 pm   #10
John123
Heptode
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Luton, Bedfordshire, UK.
Posts: 627
Default Re: Hitach TRK-3D30E Help!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRIS_F View Post
Thanks John,

Do you have any links to reputable sources for the belts? I usually use ebay for everything but try to stay away from Chinese sellers where possible.
It's been ages since I last bought any belts, although UK based sellers via eBay are probably your best bet. You tend to run into less problems with the small (square sectional) type belts than with the larger flat belts (as used in Hi-Fi tape decks etc), so you should be OK.

With regards to the caps, you're probably better off replacing like-for-like. It's possible the design has gone through a number of revisions, so your service documentation might not always be a 100% accurate representation of what is in front of you. They often add a little a disclaimer such as 'design and specifications are subject to change at any time'.
__________________
Regards,
John

Last edited by John123; 12th Aug 2019 at 6:27 pm.
John123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 1:20 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Paul Stenning.