UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 17th Jan 2020, 3:25 am   #1
tblack1
Diode
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Sydney, New South wales, Australia
Posts: 1
Default Digitising output from old Philips N1700 VCR

I'm starting from a fairly low knowledge base here. I have late 1970s Philips N1700 VCR which I would like to hook up to my laptop in order to digitise some old tapes. I have no idea how this could be accomplished. The sole input and output seem to be BNC coaxial jacks, female plug for input and male plug for output (pic). My recollection is that the antenna cable went into the VCR, you tuned it, and a cable went out of the VCR into the antenna input of the TV. I have a modern VCR to USB adaptor, which has three RCA jacks, but this is useless for the Philips where the only output is from a single BNC connection. How do I adapt the output from the VCR to make it suitable to go into the laptop?
Thanks, Tom
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9225.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	74.9 KB
ID:	197234  
tblack1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2020, 11:52 am   #2
Maarten
Nonode
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Haarlem, Netherlands
Posts: 2,744
Default Re: Digitising output from old Philips N1700 VCR

If there are also BNC connectors, you should use those. Or did you refer to the IEC connectors in the picture?
Maarten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2020, 11:58 am   #3
dragonser
Heptode
 
dragonser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Carshalton, Surrey, UK.
Posts: 503
Default Re: Digitising output from old Philips N1700 VCR

Hi,
I may be wrong, but I think the basic N1700 only had an rf output..
I seem to remember there are mods that can be done to add audio and video outputs ? But these may be quite complex...
__________________
Regards Peter B
dragonser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2020, 12:07 pm   #4
Nuvistor
Dekatron
 
Nuvistor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wigan, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 7,489
Default Re: Digitising output from old Philips N1700 VCR

Those look like standard BL coax connectors for RF in and out.
One clumsy suggestion if you have a more modern VCR that has RCA outputs on the unit is to feed the RF out on the N1700 to the modern VCR, (VHS?) and take the unit you have to feed the RCA outputs of that to your convertor then laptop.
This will use VCR to convert the RF signal to baseband.

You may find there is patterning on the picture due to the two RF modulators beating together, just move the frequency (channel) if one recorder.
__________________
Frank
Nuvistor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2020, 12:08 pm   #5
dazzlevision
Nonode
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Near Swindon, North Wiltshire, UK.
Posts: 2,404
Default Re: Digitising output from old Philips N1700 VCR

The N1700 does indeed only have an RF (radio frequency) output from its internal modulator.
dazzlevision is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2020, 2:31 pm   #6
llama
Octode
 
llama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St Osyth, Nr Clacton, Essex, UK.
Posts: 1,186
Default Re: Digitising output from old Philips N1700 VCR

There is a mod in "Television" magazine for adding baseband video and audio output to an n1700. I did it to mine at the time and seem to remember there was not much construction involved. Anyone have that reference?

Meanwhile, I've been looking into having my n1700 tapes digitised - approx. 40 each here but others may be available:

https://www.video99.co.uk/
Graham
__________________
Half my stuff is junk - trouble is, I don't know which half!
llama is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2020, 2:43 pm   #7
Nuvistor
Dekatron
 
Nuvistor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wigan, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 7,489
Default Re: Digitising output from old Philips N1700 VCR

Quote:
Originally Posted by llama View Post
There is a mod in "Television" magazine for adding baseband video and audio output to an n1700.
Graham
November 1979 edition.
__________________
Frank
Nuvistor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2020, 3:22 pm   #8
malvision
Pentode
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wirral, Merseyside, UK.
Posts: 103
Default Re: Digitising output from old Philips N1700 VCR

Here https://www.americanradiohistory.com...UK-1979-11.pdf
malvision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2020, 3:44 pm   #9
Maarten
Nonode
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Haarlem, Netherlands
Posts: 2,744
Default Re: Digitising output from old Philips N1700 VCR

Since BNC connectors were mentioned, I suspected the machine might have been modded. However it's possible the IEC connectors were just mistakenly mentioned as being BNC.

@tblack1: could I have a picture of your type label please? I'm trying to get some insight in Philips VCR/VCC production numbers and also very curious which version was sold in Australia.
Maarten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2020, 6:55 pm   #10
Snarf81
Hexode
 
Snarf81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Rogiet, Monmouthshire, Wales, UK.
Posts: 371
Default Re: Digitising output from old Philips N1700 VCR

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuvistor View Post
Those look like standard BL coax connectors for RF in and out.
One clumsy suggestion if you have a more modern VCR that has RCA outputs on the unit is to feed the RF out on the N1700 to the modern VCR, (VHS?) and take the unit you have to feed the RCA outputs of that to your convertor then laptop.
This will use VCR to convert the RF signal to baseband.

You may find there is patterning on the picture due to the two RF modulators beating together, just move the frequency (channel) if one recorder.
I've done this with mine and have excellent results. Although, I'll be modding it in the future to have direct composite video and audio outputs for a 'cleaner' transfer picture.

Richard.
Snarf81 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2020, 7:38 pm   #11
dj_fivos_sak
Heptode
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Lefkada, Greece
Posts: 717
Default Re: Digitising output from old Philips N1700 VCR

Tom

These are standard aerial (RF) connectors, not BNC. The N1700 only has an RF input and output. But if your machine also has BNC connectors which are mainly used for composite video in/out, it means it had the modification done to it in the past. Just follow what Frank suggested. If you also have a desktop PC that has a free PCI slot, get an old TV tuner card and hook up the VCR that way.

Regards

Fivos
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A441_1_201710191786278879.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	18.0 KB
ID:	197263  
dj_fivos_sak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2020, 9:16 pm   #12
rambo1152
Octode
 
rambo1152's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 1,651
Default Re: Digitising output from old Philips N1700 VCR

I've got something I find invaluable in that scenario.
It's a cheap supermarket DVD recorder I bought years ago.
Click image for larger version

Name:	dvdr1.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	39.3 KB
ID:	197277

It has baseband audio and composite video inputs on RCA sockets, and also IEEE1394 "Firewire" input that was perfect for the last camcorder I owned
Click image for larger version

Name:	dvdr2.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	80.7 KB
ID:	197278

But more to the point here, it has a UHF/VHF tuner, so it will record direct from your VCR's RF output.
Click image for larger version

Name:	dvdr3.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	57.0 KB
ID:	197279

I record on a DVD-RW then pop the finalized disk into my PC and copy off the VOB files, then use the disk for something else.
__________________
--
Graham.
G3ZVT
rambo1152 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Jan 2020, 10:14 pm   #13
af024
Heptode
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ashby-de-la-Zouch (it's not by the sea)
Posts: 775
Default Re: Digitising output from old Philips N1700 VCR

March 1981 Television p254-244 also describes a solution to provide video and audio into the N1700. Not that that's what you want to do in your case of course, but I thought I'd mention it for completeness (and because I've just read it strangely enough).
__________________
Now where on earth did I remove that from?
af024 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Jan 2020, 4:22 pm   #14
dj_fivos_sak
Heptode
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Lefkada, Greece
Posts: 717
Default Re: Digitising output from old Philips N1700 VCR

Colin just uploaded a video showing the process of modifying these machines for an AV output:
https://youtu.be/nvjOmFKjc18
dj_fivos_sak is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:25 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2020, Paul Stenning.