UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread

Old 11th Sep 2017, 7:33 am   #1
snanceki
Retired Dormant Member

Default Volume offset correction JVC RC-QW33

Hi I'm new here and I'm hoping that one of you can point me in the correct direction. From what I have read already it would appear that I have stumbled on an amazing amount of detailed knowledge. Although I'm a professional engineer my electronics diagnosis/repair skills are limited and I need a starter for 10 to get me on the right track.

Problem: JVC RC-QW33 Boombox. Fully operational with the exception that the volume control offset has changed resulting in the output being too high even when the volume is turned to minimum. This situation exists irrespective of whether the volume is changed using the Remote or the +/- buttons on the main assembly. Also irrespective of input source (Radio / CD/Tape etc). Likewise irrespective of whether main speakers or headphones are selected. It is important to note that the volume does change on request and that the digital indication of the level selected (1,2,3,4,5 etc) changes but the offset of the available range has changed and needs a reset.
I have the circuit diagram (Block and Schematic) but am struggling to determine exactly where in the circuit the offset volume (potentiometer/setting) is located.
Vol & Tone is controlled using a Sony CXA1792S Graphic Equaliser IC which when referring to its data sheet shows BIAS between pins 11 &12.
Could this be what I'm looking for?