UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > General Vintage Technology Discussions

Notices

General Vintage Technology Discussions For general discussions about vintage radio and other vintage electronics etc.

Closed Thread

Old 21st Jun 2015, 8:21 pm   #1
trickie_dickie
Hexode

Default Death sentence?

Since joining this Forum many moons ago, I have been amazed at the number of people messing about with Vintage equipment loaded with lethal voltages. They have neither knowledge, experience or even tools of the trade (The latest doesn't even have a multimeter). I learned years ago that I'm not a Motor Mechanic - hence I don't work on cars. Neither do I know anything about Digital TV / Radio so I don't try fixing them. So why do people think they can work on things that they know nothing about?
Old 21st Jun 2015, 8:36 pm   #2
Station X

Default Re: Death sentence

I think they over estimate their knowledge and so do those of us who advise them.

Straight forward statements like "measure the voltage across R12" aren't understood and they probably can't find R12 in any case.

I remember one newbie being asked to measure DC voltages on the output transformer primary. He got strange readings we couldn't understand until we discovered he was measuring voltages on the mains transformer.

Another member said he never earthed anything unless it had a motor in it. He never did explain his thinking behind that.

Reach for your meter before you reach for your soldering iron.
Old 21st Jun 2015, 8:37 pm   #3
stevehertz
Dekatron