UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Other Vintage Household Electrical or Electromechanical Items

Notices

Other Vintage Household Electrical or Electromechanical Items For discussions about other vintage (over 25 years old) electrical and electromechanical household items. See the sticky thread for details.

Old 10th Apr 2024, 9:22 am   #1
Phil G4SPZ
Dekatron

Default Gents synchronous clock

The museum where I work as a volunteer has unearthed this small but very heavy Gents mains synchronous clock. It appears to have been designed to fit into, say, a control panel. The entire clock hinges outwards for adjustment and is held in place by a heavy cast iron ring. The glass is thick and bevelled. The clock looks like it would survive any physical assault!

Has anyone ever seen anything like it? The coil measures 4k so it should run.

Phil
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9012.jpg
Views:	129
Size:	65.4 KB
ID:	296145   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9013.jpg
Views:	116
Size:	36.5 KB
ID:	296146   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9011.jpg
Views:	118
Size:	45.6 KB
ID:	296147   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_9010.jpg
Views:	108
Size:	50.9 KB
ID:	296148  

Optimist [n]: One who is not in possession of the full facts
Phil G4SPZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th Apr 2024, 9:36 am   #2
Nickthedentist
Dekatron

Default Re: Gents synchronous clock

Nice!

May have also started life recessed into wooden panelling or mounted on a circular wooden base hung on a solid wall.

I have a similar Gents one made for the GPO and another smaller Smith one.

I did some training at the 1930s QE hospital in Birmingham in the 1990s and there were lots of spots where the original Gents recessed clocks had been ripped out and a cheap quartz job nailed over the top.