UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 13th Nov 2019, 11:28 pm   #1
Bersham
Triode

Default Marconi radiogram. Conversion to a record player.

Hello all, I am a newbie on here with limited knowledge of the amplification of a record player. May I ask for help please, I have a Marconi radiogram and I would like to remove the deck and refit into a case. How do I go about a amplifying the signal from the stylus/deck.
Pete
Old 14th Nov 2019, 1:23 am   #2
simpsons
Octode

Default Re: Marconi radiogram. Conversion to a record player.

This is some project and not for the faint-hearted.

First of all, should you be a novice then you should only undertake work on mains operated equipment with help from someone experienced in electronics.

Secondly, just which Marconi Radiogram are you thinking of taking the parts from and what case do you envisage putting the deck into?

I ask this because you may not realise how much space above and below the turntable you need for an amplifier and 2 loudspeakers. You will also need to fabricate or use the turntable plinth which has been cut out to support the turntable.

Last but not least, the amplifier from the Marconiphone may not be suitable with the existing radio parts and power supply still connected. This means that you will need to source and install in the box a new amplifier which will need to match the turntable cartridge, fabricate a space to hold the volume control etc and somehow stop all of this moving around inside the box.

Chris
Old 14th Nov 2019, 3:11 pm   #3
ben
Dekatron