UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 8th Nov 2019, 6:08 pm   #1
Casiodan
Retired Dormant Member

Default Ekco ARG134 - beyond repair?

Hi all.

I’ve inherited my grandparents Ekco ARG134. I can get the turntable spinning and the valves glowing but that’s about it. There’s no sound and the radio bit seems to be dead. I’ve very little knowledge about these things and wondered if there are any resources to help me get it working. My alternative is to stick a new turntable and amp in it and maybe replace the tuner with an iPad.

Cheers
Dan
Old 8th Nov 2019, 11:00 pm   #2
Michael Maurice

Default Re: Ekco ARG134 - beyond repair?

Are you sure about the model number Dan? If it is an ARG134 then it dates from around 1948-1950.

Please do not destroy the originality of it.

The amplifier employs what is known as a 'live chassis' which means that the radio chassis is connected to one leg of the mains hopefully neutral.

Please note that you can get a severe electric shock if this unit is not serviced correctly.

There are several parts which must be replaced for safety and reliability. That will include a new mains cable to ensure the risk of electric shock is zero.

If the turntable is original then its for 78's only however many people had new turntables fitted in the mid to late 1950's to be able to play 33 and 45 records.

Post some pictures and we can guide you from there.

Once properly serviced, it may be possible to connect an ipod/phone/bluetooth but it has to be totally and absolutely safe.

http://www.michaelmauricerepairs.co.uk/
Old 9th Nov 2019, 3:16 am   #3
MurphyNut
Heptode