UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > General Vintage Technology > Success Stories

Notices

Success Stories If you have successfully repaired or restored a piece of equipment, why not write up what you did and post details here. Particularly if it was interesting, unusual or challenging. PLEASE DO NOT POST REQUESTS FOR HELP HERE!

Closed Thread

Old 4th Oct 2008, 1:24 pm   #1
Top Cap
Octode

Default Marconi T11DA Capacitor Dropper

I was asked to get going a Marconi T11DA that arrived complete with rotten and crumbling line dropper cord .
It was the first time I have came up against one of these since I was an apprentice all those many years ago when it was a simple task of going to the store room for either .15 or .3 dropper cord and cutting off the correct length. Those days of course have now gone and I have yet to find any line cord for sale on the internet, so I looked up the T11DA on the Forum and found this excellent thread :-
https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...ighlight=t11da
So I set about converting the radio to capacitor dropper and mounted the required components on a similar piece of tag board as shown in the photo of that thread provided by Barrie. My interpretation is shown in the attached line sketch.
Two holes were drilled into the chassis to place the tag board just to the left of an existing hole which I fitted with a suitable grommet.
I must confess to being very apprehensive at switch on and glad I had a Variac, just in case. At 230V I was rewarded with excellent reception, in fact one of the best performing radios on medium wave here in my tower block, stations all over the dial instead of just the usual three. Perhaps it is the frame aerial, all my other radios use ferrite rods.