UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread

Old 18th Jul 2012, 9:58 pm   #1
bristolBobby
Retired Dormant Member

Default Studer Strangenesses(sss)

Hello to all!

I know it's not good form to make my first post a plea for help, so I can also let you know that I have a lot of experience with 70's/80's CADAC mixing desks including A, B, G, E, J, M, 'Concert' and some custom stuff they made. I also have full schematics for the Soundcraft Magnetics range of Multitrack tape machines, and have spent A LOT of time fixing my SCM381-8 1" 8-Track machine, and have customised it quite a bit. So if anyone needs help with these things please let me know.

My own problem is with my Studer B67 MkII, which I have owned and used happily for about four years. The trouble started when I made a varispeed card for it, and although I checked and rechecked it for errors I clearly got something very wrong as when I started up the machine with the card connected the capstan started to spin extremely fast, and then slowed to a halt as the +12V line's fuse popped.

With the varispeed card removed and the fuse replaced the state of affairs is this:

1) When the machine is switched on the Capstan motor spins momentarily and slows to a stop, it is as if a single pulse of DC has been applied, and it stops rotating under its own momentum. It's just a twitch but it shows that the motor is alive at least.

2) none of the three speed select switches illuminate, except ever so briefly when the machine is switched off.