UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Offered and Wanted Messages > Repair and Restoration Services Wanted

Notices

Repair and Restoration Services Wanted If you need someone to repair or restore equipment for you please post your request here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 30th Mar 2019, 11:41 pm   #1
Mr.Shepherd
Diode
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Hitchin, Hertfordshire, UK.
Posts: 1
Unhappy Racal RA1772 not working!

Hi folks.

I won't bother to elaborate at the moment but come straight to the point.My treasured RA1772 was working one day then not the next! It appeared to be working but does not tune into any stations, I can only hear background noise. (Yes the antenna is connected!) I don't have the equipment let alone the knowledge to find out what's wrong. Is there anybody out there who can repair these receivers or perhaps knows someone who can? I would be most grateful to hear from you.

Many thanks.
Mr.Shepherd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2019, 6:51 am   #2
Craig Sawyers
Octode
 
Craig Sawyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Oxford, UK.
Posts: 1,825
Default Re: Racal RA1772 not working!

Try Rob Filby. He's the Racal guru, and is active (from time to time) on RacalRA17forum@yahoogroups.co.uk . But there are others there who are knowledgeable on that forum too regarding the 1772.

Craig
Craig Sawyers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 31st Mar 2019, 1:15 pm   #3
Alistair D
Octode
 
Alistair D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Edinburgh, UK.
Posts: 1,597
Default Re: Racal RA1772 not working!

That link did not work for me, this one does

https://uk.groups.yahoo.com/neo/grou...RA17forum/info

Al
__________________
I won't tell you how I discovered that.
Alistair D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Apr 2019, 10:53 am   #4
vosperd
Hexode
 
vosperd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 312
Default Re: Racal RA1772 not working!

There was a similar request a year ago here.

https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...ghlight=RA1772

That thread is now closed but you might try the original poster to see if he had any success.
Could be something simple but without any test gear at all it wlould be impossible I guess.
If you have someone nearby with a scope dvm it would be handy.

Don m5aky
vosperd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th Apr 2019, 5:40 pm   #5
Sean Williams
Dekatron
 
Sean Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St.Ippolyts, Hitchin, Hertfordshire QRA IO91UW
Posts: 3,345
Default Re: Racal RA1772 not working!

Depends how much of a rush you are in - I also live in Hitchin, and have some experience of other Racal models - I would be happy to take a look at it for you, but as I say, wouldn't be offering a rapid turnaround
__________________
Engineers make things work and have spare bits when finished
Sean Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 1:03 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2019, Paul Stenning.