UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 16th Apr 2021, 6:52 pm   #1
Radio Tech
Octode
 
Radio Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bocking, near Braintree, Essex, UK.
Posts: 1,698
Default Regentone

Hi Folks

Can someone identify this set, there does not appear to be a model number or even a serial number, I think it may be the later version of the 358 but cannot be certain. Here are a couple of pictures one of the front and one of the interior.

Regards

Ken
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	100_2113.jpg
Views:	186
Size:	58.7 KB
ID:	231921   Click image for larger version

Name:	100_2115.jpg
Views:	208
Size:	102.2 KB
ID:	231922  
Radio Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2021, 7:05 pm   #2
Restoration73
Nonode
 
Restoration73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Surbiton, SW London, UK.
Posts: 2,244
Default Re: Regentone

Two speakers, so
https://www.radiomuseum.org/r/regentone_a_3532a353.html
Restoration73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th Apr 2021, 7:32 pm   #3
Gabe001
Heptode
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Stockport, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 575
Default Re: Regentone

My 358 has a stamp on the chassis, see attached.

They're well built, look and sound lovely. Yours looks like it's in great condition

Gabriel
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_20210416-202258.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	28.3 KB
ID:	231930  
Gabe001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2021, 4:46 pm   #4
Radio Tech
Octode
 
Radio Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bocking, near Braintree, Essex, UK.
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Regentone

Hi restoration73

Definitely not the 352/353 model, as the one I have has all octal base valves and the fact it has the AZ31 rectifier this made me think it was what I said. I will see, I am just about to start work on this set.

Ken
Radio Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th Apr 2021, 6:42 pm   #5
Trifocaltrev
Pentode
 
Trifocaltrev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lancing, West Sussex, UK.
Posts: 220
Default Re: Regentone

Hi I think this earlier model is your one.

Regards
Trevor.https://www.radiomuseum.org/r/regentone_a353a_35.html
Trifocaltrev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2021, 2:46 pm   #6
Radio Tech
Octode
 
Radio Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bocking, near Braintree, Essex, UK.
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Regentone

Hi folks

Got the chassis out to start the work needed on this and just out of curiosity the only number I can find on the chassis is AF0911 I have a feeling this is a serial number. Thanks for the link Trevor but when I looked at the information, the valve bases are not octal they are of the 6f series, only v4 of the A353 model has the octal base. In both circuit diagrams the smoothing cap appears to a 16+16uF but as the A358 has a AZ31 the max capacitance for the reservoir is 60Uf so I am considering putting a 50+50uF in.

Ken
Radio Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th Apr 2021, 3:40 pm   #7
Cobaltblue
Moderator
 
Cobaltblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Exeter, Devon and Poole, Dorset UK.
Posts: 4,865
Default Re: Regentone

The radio in the Radiomuseum linked to by Trevor (Regentone 353) has the following valve line up (and two speakers):

ECH35 EF39 EBC33 6V6 AZ31 all Octals

It seems there are two versions of this set the one linked to by Restoration is the 353/2 so a later version.

Cheers

Mike T
__________________
Don't care if it was a bargain why's it in my kitchen
Mike T BVWS member.
www.cossor.co.uk
Cobaltblue is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Apr 2021, 10:20 am   #8
Radio Tech
Octode
 
Radio Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bocking, near Braintree, Essex, UK.
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Regentone

Thanks Mike

Yes it does seem to be that way, two totally different versions, when I downloaded the circuit from radiomuseum it just showed the B8G valve bases on the schematic, the one I have does have that valve line up and two speakers but I cannot seem to find the exact service manual for this one I have, both circuits show only one speaker.

Best wishes

Ken
Radio Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2021, 11:47 am   #9
Radio Tech
Octode
 
Radio Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bocking, near Braintree, Essex, UK.
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Regentone

Hi Folks

After changing the caps, I applied power and got some sound out of the set, but after around two or three minutes the sound fades, I set tested the EF39 and EBC33 and they seem ok, I could not set test the ECH35 or 6V6 and haven't got those valves as spares so will have to check the voltages around each valve and see.

Ken
Radio Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2021, 11:50 am   #10
cathoderay57
Octode
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 1,388
Default Re: Regentone

Tired AZ31 rectifier? Jerry
cathoderay57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2021, 5:26 pm   #11
Radio Tech
Octode
 
Radio Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bocking, near Braintree, Essex, UK.
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Regentone

Hi Jerry

Yes I did wonder if the rectifier was of this condition but I also wondered about the ECH35 going down, the reason I say this is that I hooked a scope to the grid of the EF39 and after a while the signal into the grid just went, now whether this is due to the AZ31 starting to fail I am not completely sure.
I just wish I had a spare ECH35 and AZ31

Ken
Radio Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2021, 5:59 pm   #12
Gabe001
Heptode
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Stockport, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 575
Default Re: Regentone

Ken, you don't need anything fancy to diagnose a tired rectifier, just your multimeter. Generally, the greater the demand on the rectifier, the lower your HT will be if your rectifier is "tired". Try measuring HT with and without the 6v6

See here

https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...d.php?t=169873

Last edited by Gabe001; 20th Apr 2021 at 6:05 pm.
Gabe001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2021, 7:36 pm   #13
cathoderay57
Octode
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 1,388
Default Re: Regentone

Check the HT feed to the ECH35 oscillator anode. If the anode voltage is low because a resistor has gone high that could also cause the symptom. Jerry
cathoderay57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Apr 2021, 8:45 pm   #14
Richardgr
Pentode
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Täby, Sweden
Posts: 175
Default Re: Regentone

By coincedence came across this, this evening ...
From a 1950 Radio Times, Issue 1371
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	regentone.jpg
Views:	46
Size:	67.2 KB
ID:	232253  
Richardgr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Apr 2021, 12:57 pm   #15
Radio Tech
Octode
 
Radio Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bocking, near Braintree, Essex, UK.
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Regentone

Hi Jerry

Yes I will check the feed resistors on those anodes and Gabe001 yes will check voltage off rec with and without the 6V6 in.

All the usual caps have now been changed, I did check the HT on both sides of the smoothing cap and this seems ok.

Will press on with this,

Ken
Radio Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Apr 2021, 1:07 pm   #16
telstar
Octode
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 1,269
Default Re: Regentone

Hi. I recognize this radio, a Regentone A353. mine has the I.O valves. These radios work very well indeed.
Good luck
Mike
telstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Apr 2021, 2:23 pm   #17
Radio Tech
Octode
 
Radio Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bocking, near Braintree, Essex, UK.
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Regentone

Well folks, this is quite a task so far, have checked AZ31 HT on both sides of smoothing cap and with the 6V6 out which reads 311V and 310V, with the 6V6 in 309 and 310V. The feed resistor of the ECH35 seems ok and if anything just reads a little lower than 47K.

Best wishes

Ken
Radio Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Apr 2021, 2:46 pm   #18
Gabe001
Heptode
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Stockport, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 575
Default Re: Regentone

Your rectifier looks ok. Play it through pickup and see if behaves in the same way. If it does, your problem is with the output stage.
Gabe001 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 7:31 am   #19
Radio Tech
Octode
 
Radio Tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Bocking, near Braintree, Essex, UK.
Posts: 1,698
Default Re: Regentone

Hi folks

I injected a tone through the gram socket and the output stage appears ok so now it looks like the front end stage of the set failing, the odd thing is though the voltages around the ECH35 and EF39 seem ok according to the data I have.

Ken
Radio Tech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 8:35 am   #20
cathoderay57
Octode
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 1,388
Default Re: Regentone

Hi Ken, hopefully the replacement ECH35 should sort things out. Maybe also worth checking the oscillator coupling capacitor(s) connected to triode anode and grid circuits of the ECH35. Usually these are silvered mica or ceramic types that rarely give trouble but faults are not unknown. Cheers, Jerry
cathoderay57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT. The time now is 9:11 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2021, Paul Stenning.