UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc

Notices

Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc Standards converters, modulators anything else for providing signals to vintage televisions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25th Jul 2022, 4:07 pm   #81
murphyv310
Dekatron
 
murphyv310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, UK.
Posts: 5,012
Default Re: Modeline experiments

Hi.
A couple of Questions Re Vidblaster. When displaying the test card on both the 405 line output and on screen with Vidblaster there is serious aliasing on the frequency gratings. The original source material is perfect as it is when you drag it across the screen to the second monitor. Also the X on the screen is a little annoying, no doubt as it's the trial version.
Any ideas about the aliasing would be helpful.
__________________
Cheers,
Trevor.
2M0GZQ. RSGB, GQRP, WACRAL, K&LARC. Member
murphyv310 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jul 2022, 5:00 pm   #82
rambo1152
Dekatron
 
rambo1152's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 3,352
Default Re: Modeline experiments

Click "Video" on the top menu and select
Resolution 1920*1080 (full HD). Then "Video" Frame rate 25.
__________________
--
Graham.
G3ZVT
rambo1152 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jul 2022, 5:02 pm   #83
murphyv310
Dekatron
 
murphyv310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, UK.
Posts: 5,012
Default Re: Modeline experiments

Quote:
Originally Posted by rambo1152 View Post
Click "Video" on the top menu and select
Resolution 1920*1080 (full HD). Then "Video" Frame rate 25.
Hi.
Yes I've selected that, as per your instructions.
__________________
Cheers,
Trevor.
2M0GZQ. RSGB, GQRP, WACRAL, K&LARC. Member
murphyv310 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jul 2022, 6:17 pm   #84
rambo1152
Dekatron
 
rambo1152's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 3,352
Default Re: Modeline experiments

Oh. That's exactly what it does if you leave that setting as default.

I'll have a play later and see if I can reproduce the issue, and get back to you Trevor.
__________________
--
Graham.
G3ZVT
rambo1152 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th Jul 2022, 10:41 pm   #85
rambo1152
Dekatron
 
rambo1152's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 3,352
Default Re: Modeline experiments

Any joy with this Trevor?

The only thing I can find that alters the amount of aliasing is the resolution, which I found by experiment is best set at 1920 X 1080 which when I come to think about it is a widescreen mode, both my PC monitors are 4:3 (or maybe 5:4?)
In case it's relevant, my Windows screen resolution is set to the "recommended" 1280X1024.

Is it simply that your test card is too small and is being upscaled?
The one I use is in the zip file attached, it's 1458 x 1080
Attached Files
File Type: zip BBC_Test_Card_C.zip (207.6 KB, 19 views)
__________________
--
Graham.
G3ZVT
rambo1152 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Jul 2022, 7:21 am   #86
murphyv310
Dekatron
 
murphyv310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, UK.
Posts: 5,012
Default Re: Modeline experiments

Hi Graham.
Yes I think that's what the problem could be, I think also there is a certain amount of compression on Vidblaster, my original test card C when dragged across to the 405 line screen looks good but less so on Vidblaster, the one you've sent is a lot better indeed on Vidblaster. I have an even higher resolution test card C on a spare HDD and I'll try that later on once I find it.
Now have a fair size library with lots of films recorded from Talking Pictures and YouTube, also DVDs converted to MP4, Dr Who, Steptoe etc, much easier than with a standards converter.
__________________
Cheers,
Trevor.
2M0GZQ. RSGB, GQRP, WACRAL, K&LARC. Member
murphyv310 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2022, 3:44 pm   #87
murphyv310
Dekatron
 
murphyv310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, UK.
Posts: 5,012
Default Re: Modeline experiments

Hi.
All running very well with this.
One question though. I'm using the basic sync feed with the two resistors, the other version has a small circuit with two chips, is there any advantages using the second method?
__________________
Cheers,
Trevor.
2M0GZQ. RSGB, GQRP, WACRAL, K&LARC. Member
murphyv310 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2022, 6:34 pm   #88
peter_scott
Dekatron
 
peter_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Edinburgh, UK.
Posts: 3,074
Default Re: Modeline experiments

I think some sets have rather flakey interlacing and they work better with a true 405 line sync pulse train. http://www.nostalgiatech.co.uk/240%20lines.htm

Peter
peter_scott is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2022, 6:38 pm   #89
rambo1152
Dekatron
 
rambo1152's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Manchester, UK.
Posts: 3,352
Default Re: Modeline experiments

See the images in post #34 in this thread.

That circuit is the brainchild of Peter Scott.

Although the pulse timings out of the graphics card are immaculate, the waveform lacks the trains of so-called Broad Pulses in the field blanking interval of the broadcast standard signal. Peters circuit endeavours to generate them and insert them into the signal. Without this enhancement, many sets will struggle to show any interlace, although, it has to be said that with a small screen you might not even notice.

You do need an oscilloscope to set it up.

<Edit> Hi Peter!
__________________
--
Graham.
G3ZVT

Last edited by rambo1152; 28th Jul 2022 at 6:48 pm.
rambo1152 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2022, 6:52 pm   #90
murphyv310
Dekatron
 
murphyv310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, UK.
Posts: 5,012
Default Re: Modeline experiments

Hi.
Thanks for that, no problem in setting it up TBH I didn't realise there were no broad pulses as I didn't have a close look at the waveform.
Will build it up but no doubt I'll not have the chips!
__________________
Cheers,
Trevor.
2M0GZQ. RSGB, GQRP, WACRAL, K&LARC. Member
murphyv310 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th Jul 2022, 7:16 pm   #91
peter_scott
Dekatron
 
peter_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Edinburgh, UK.
Posts: 3,074
Default Re: Modeline experiments

I confess that designing with monostables is really bad form and it's not the easiest of things to set-up but it's nice that it's minimal.
(A flakey circuit to overcome flakey telly designs.)

Peter

Hi Graham

Last edited by peter_scott; 28th Jul 2022 at 7:21 pm.
peter_scott is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2022, 4:13 pm   #92
peter_scott
Dekatron
 
peter_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Edinburgh, UK.
Posts: 3,074
Default Re: Modeline experiments

Looking back at the circuit I concocted I noticed that the adjustment for the line sync freq/position had a stupidly large amount of range. I just checked what I actually used. Instead of the single adjustment I included a 3 position switch selecting between 2 preset adjust pots and third pot with a knob.

The actual values set on the presets were 8.3k for 405 lines 47k for 240 lines and the knob adjustment pot was 100k just for messing about.

Looking on my Sony 9-90 on 405 lines none of the settings resulted in hooking of the top of the picture but the 9-90 was quite critical to display correct interlacing. I'm happy to report that the 9-90 worked correctly on the 405 line preset that I last adjusted 4 years ago.

Peter

Last edited by peter_scott; 29th Jul 2022 at 4:19 pm.
peter_scott is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th Jul 2022, 7:54 pm   #93
murphyv310
Dekatron
 
murphyv310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, UK.
Posts: 5,012
Default Re: Modeline experiments

Hi Peter.
Oddly my 9-90 has good interlace without the modification, both hsync and vsync are minus (-) there is no hooking on a TV62, VT4 & V310 Murphy. The only thing I see is a white line at the bottom of the picture when you reduce height.
__________________
Cheers,
Trevor.
2M0GZQ. RSGB, GQRP, WACRAL, K&LARC. Member
murphyv310 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 8:40 pm   #94
murphyv310
Dekatron
 
murphyv310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kilmarnock, Ayrshire, UK.
Posts: 5,012
Default Re: Modeline experiments

Hi.
Perhaps a silly question. When you add the graphics card is the onboard graphics then not accessible? Would plugging in the main monitor to the onboard graphics work and then leave two possible 405 line sources available at the ATI Radeon 2400 XT graphics card or am I right off track?
__________________
Cheers,
Trevor.
2M0GZQ. RSGB, GQRP, WACRAL, K&LARC. Member
murphyv310 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 9:14 pm   #95
peter_scott
Dekatron
 
peter_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Edinburgh, UK.
Posts: 3,074
Default Re: Modeline experiments

Quote:
Originally Posted by murphyv310 View Post
When you add the graphics card is the onboard graphics then not accessible?
That's my understanding but I'm no PC guru.

Peter
peter_scott is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:32 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2021, Paul Stenning.