UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 22nd Feb 2018, 5:34 am   #1
retailer
Heptode

Default Help with Akai AM-U04

My daughter inlaw's Uncle has asked me to repair his 1980's vintage Akai amp an AM-U04, it runs twin power supplies one for each channel (powered by one transformer) with Sanyo STK pre and power amp modules a STK 3042 voltage amplifier and 2 x STK 0050 II power amplifiers. Even though I've done my own amps in the past it's not something I've had a lot of experience doing. I'm posting this in the vintage section as the amp is close to 35 yrs old so I guess that is now vintage.

The ON indicator lamp came on when powered up but the rest of the amp was dead, both power amp module 4A fuses had blown. The right channel output module measured short circuit on a few of the pins and once this was unsoldered and the amp powered up - the speaker relay clicked on and I could play music through the left channel - ha! easy I thought. I replaced the faulty module with one sourced from Ebay, once fitted I noticed low volume and distortion in that channel this was confirmed with a scope and signal generator. The distorted waveform was on the input and output of the STK3042 voltage amp and so was also visible on pins 1 and 7 of the fet differential pair. These were also sourced from Ebay, however once fitted there was no difference - the distorted weak signal was still there.