UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 9th Feb 2019, 10:11 am   #1
Chumley
Triode

Default Hacker Gondolier sound lacking presence

Hi - I've been dipping my toes into record player restoration over the last couple of weeks, and as a newbie I've found the posts and downloads here invaluable. Been making good progress with a Bush SRP31D and have just posted a success story with pics about rectifier replacement. https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...d.php?t=153857

While disposing of a tumble dryer a couple of days ago I spotted a filthy Hacker Gondolier among the waste in the container at my local recycling centre. I brought it home and washed off all the crud, then went through some basic safety tests based on advice here https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...ad.php?t=75401 before it powered up OK.

Everything under the deck is really pretty clean, and after I'd serviced the Garrard 2025TC (paying particular attention to un-gumming the pawl, as advised on too many threads to mention!) the autochange works perfectly. The unit is very loud, and vol/treble/bass all function smoothly.

I've seen threads discussing the nature of the circuit and advising running treble high, but I think the unit's lacking a certain 'sparkle' as it were. I'm not comparing sound with modern equipment, but my SRP31D has more clarity and less fuzziness by comparison.

I wondered if the problem was the cartridge. It has an original Acos GP96-1, which looks intact. I cleaned some old fluff out from it, replaced the stylus, and adjusted the spring to give a very acceptable 3.57g tracking weight.