UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 19th Jan 2019, 12:33 pm   #1
phut bang
Triode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Wrexham, Clwyd, Wales, UK.
Posts: 27
Default Grampian type 531 Amplifier

Been on my bench now for eighteen months or so, hoping to look at it again when weather gets warmer.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	grampian 531 amp 8.jpg
Views:	147
Size:	85.5 KB
ID:	176681   Click image for larger version

Name:	grampian 531 amp 12.jpg
Views:	146
Size:	114.6 KB
ID:	176682   Click image for larger version

Name:	grampian 531 amp 24.jpg
Views:	153
Size:	135.1 KB
ID:	176683   Click image for larger version

Name:	grampian 531 amp 35.jpg
Views:	163
Size:	64.0 KB
ID:	176684   Click image for larger version

Name:	grampian 531 amp 33.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	84.4 KB
ID:	176685  

__________________
Adjust the volume for maximum smoke!
phut bang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2019, 6:12 pm   #2
crackle
Nonode
 
crackle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Basildon, Essex, UK.
Posts: 2,783
Default Re: Grampian type 531 Amplifier

Its looking good.
__________________
BVWS Member
The KB Museum

My collection in the Radio Museum
crackle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th Jan 2019, 7:25 pm   #3
phut bang
Triode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Wrexham, Clwyd, Wales, UK.
Posts: 27
Default Re: Grampian type 531 Amplifier

Some more pics and circuit.

I will have to put the value of components in, the circuit is from memory.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	grampian 531 amp 36.jpg
Views:	100
Size:	120.4 KB
ID:	176735   Click image for larger version

Name:	grampian 531 circuit 1.jpg
Views:	101
Size:	32.3 KB
ID:	176736   Click image for larger version

Name:	grampian 531 circuit 2.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	39.9 KB
ID:	176737  
__________________
Adjust the volume for maximum smoke!
phut bang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2019, 6:53 am   #4
Diabolical Artificer
Dekatron
 
Diabolical Artificer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sleaford, Lincs. UK.
Posts: 4,123
Default Re: Grampian type 531 Amplifier

Where's the OPT, is it in good nick? Looks like it will make a half decent guitar amp if the OPT is up to snuff. Not sure I like the colour of the caps though, gets me thinking of cats and owls in boats : )

Andy.
__________________
Curiosity hasn't killed this cat...so far.
Diabolical Artificer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2019, 9:56 am   #5
phut bang
Triode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Wrexham, Clwyd, Wales, UK.
Posts: 27
Default Re: Grampian type 531 Amplifier

The OP transformer I am using is a Partridge 9428. It says that on the transformer. It's rated at 75W and is physically too big, so when I finally sort the amp out I will look for another transformer. I originally replaced the two 5U4G rectifiers with 127's many years ago to mount the transformer onto chassis, but have decided now to put things as were.
__________________
Adjust the volume for maximum smoke!
phut bang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2019, 10:01 am   #6
phut bang
Triode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Wrexham, Clwyd, Wales, UK.
Posts: 27
Default Re: Grampian type 531 Amplifier

I was thinking it would make a nice foot warmer if I do venture into shed in the winter and the caps are somewhere near the original colours, don't suppose anyone will see them though the front of the amp. It is in wrinkle paint used for car engine rocker covers, so I put a little rock and roll into it and it's good for 250 degrees C.
__________________
Adjust the volume for maximum smoke!
phut bang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2019, 10:48 am   #7
rontech
Pentode
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Southport, Merseyside, UK.
Posts: 187
Default Re: Grampian type 531 Amplifier

I acquired a Grampian 552B some time ago and dismantled it for spares. Everything was built on a very sustantial basis. Heavy mains transformer and opt.

Considering a rebuild sometime. With new chassis and valves.
__________________
Time flies like an arrow, fruit flies like a banana
rontech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2019, 2:56 pm   #8
AC/HL
Moderator
 
AC/HL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Heckmondwike, West Yorkshire, UK.
Posts: 7,011
Default Re: Grampian type 531 Amplifier

Grampian circuit diagram B version.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Grampian 531B.pdf (771.1 KB, 44 views)
__________________
Bill, BVWS member
AC/HL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2019, 5:54 pm   #9
phut bang
Triode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Wrexham, Clwyd, Wales, UK.
Posts: 27
Default

well i have done some silly things in my younger years scrapping this one was one of them and now trying to find bits to replace certain items like the input transformer 4 inputs 4 outputs will never be found so have to do different circuit i just drawn the circuits so everyone can see i will add another eventually with component values in another amp i scrapped was a Williamson derived one could have been a gec circuit still have mains transformer choke and op transformer might get round to making it up one day

thanks for circuit incidentally i the valve line up is 4 kt66, 2 5u4g, s130 regulator, and 2 h63 as you can see from circuit diagram the output valves are cathode biased
__________________
Adjust the volume for maximum smoke!
phut bang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th Jan 2019, 6:45 pm   #10
Herald1360
Dekatron
 
Herald1360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leominster, Herefordshire, UK.
Posts: 12,976
Default Re: Grampian type 531 Amplifier

The 531B is fixed biassed. Four KT 66s like that ought to be good for an easy 60W, 100W if you go for it. Cathode biassed I guess nearer 60W but not being thrashed at that. It should give a good account of itself with a half decent output TX.
__________________
....__________
....|____||__|__\_____
.=.| _---\__|__|_---_|.
.........O..Chris....O
Herald1360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jan 2019, 11:11 am   #11
phut bang
Triode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Wrexham, Clwyd, Wales, UK.
Posts: 27
Default Re: Grampian type 531 Amplifier

when it was original with poor op valves it used to give a measured 60w i would be happy with 60watts plus i can remember trying a mains transformer for output a very loud 1.5 watts once i have the amp working with the present transformer i will have to find a different one as this op transformer is pysically to big for chassis
__________________
Adjust the volume for maximum smoke!
phut bang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jan 2019, 11:21 am   #12
Herald1360
Dekatron
 
Herald1360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leominster, Herefordshire, UK.
Posts: 12,976
Default Re: Grampian type 531 Amplifier

I cobbled up a few LOUD amps in my yoof using large old HT transformers as p-p output ones. Anodes to HT sec outers, HT to centre tap and series up all the heater windings to get somewhere in the ballpark for turns ratio. My noisiest one ran a pair of EL37s. You could get a large 400-0-400 250mA or so surplus mains tranny for pocket money, a proper output one was about ten times as much!
__________________
....__________
....|____||__|__\_____
.=.| _---\__|__|_---_|.
.........O..Chris....O
Herald1360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jan 2019, 4:16 pm   #13
phut bang
Triode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Wrexham, Clwyd, Wales, UK.
Posts: 27
Default Re: Grampian type 531 Amplifier

i will have to alter the cathode resistor values as the amp is already drawing 250ma i think the ht is 480v otherwise the bulb on the front will pop the valves dont seem to glow red internally though
__________________
Adjust the volume for maximum smoke!
phut bang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jan 2019, 6:21 pm   #14
barrymagrec
Hexode
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Morden, Surrey, UK.
Posts: 462
Default Re: Grampian type 531 Amplifier

Is the bias supply correct?
barrymagrec is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st Jan 2019, 10:13 pm   #15
Herald1360
Dekatron
 
Herald1360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Leominster, Herefordshire, UK.
Posts: 12,976
Default Re: Grampian type 531 Amplifier

GEC quoted idle current for 4 KT66s in cathode bias is around 220mA rising to around 280mA at full chat. HT is a bit lower than 480V though that figure is still within spec limits. If the amp is UL, currents go a bit higher.
__________________
....__________
....|____||__|__\_____
.=.| _---\__|__|_---_|.
.........O..Chris....O
Herald1360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd Jan 2019, 11:00 am   #16
phut bang
Triode
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Wrexham, Clwyd, Wales, UK.
Posts: 27
Default Re: Grampian type 531 Amplifier

i will have to to sort out everything the bias for valves etc i think i have a few impedance matching problems for the inputs as ther is a lack of signal bt the time you scope the inputs and go through the audio input transformers and then the tone control network ,if you start with 1v p-p it comes out at the same before going into the first valve and not enough overall volume ,still, enough entertainment for me to work out in the spring when its warmer
__________________
Adjust the volume for maximum smoke!
phut bang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 7:06 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2018, Paul Stenning.