UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Telephony and Telecomms

Notices

Vintage Telephony and Telecomms Vintage Telephones, Telephony and Telecomms Equipment

Closed Thread

Old 5th Jul 2015, 9:29 am   #1
andy1702
Retired Dormant Member

Default Setting up a BT Revelation

I've just bought a BT Revelation. The plan is to use it to connect up various old phones and maybe even connect it to the main phone line to the house, so any phone can take incoming calls. However I'm not a BT Engineer, and finding clear instructions on how to set up a Revelation is not easy. I've managed to download a user guide for a system phone (I have two system phones) but that's about it.

My current home setup is a master socket running to three extensions. All have broadband filters plugged in and phones. The last extension also has a router for my internet.

The question is how would you wire up the Revelation? Would I need to completely re-do the wiring in the whole house? Also where would the router go in the scheme of things? Because of the layout of the house it is currently on an extension socket, not on the main one as recommended.

Finally for now, does the Revelation require any special wiring to the sockets?

Sorry if I'm being a bit thick. Once again I'm on a steep learning curve. I'm picking up the Revelation next week and would like to be ready for it's arrival.
Any help much appreciated,

Andy
Old 5th Jul 2015, 2:21 pm   #2
Dave Moll
Dekatron

Default Re: Setting up a BT Revelation

As mentioned in an earlier thread about a BT Revelation, a full set of manuals can be found at https://www.systemstl.co.uk/item/137...lation-manuals. In particular, I would suggest reading the Installation Manual.