UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc

Notices

Television Standards Converters, Modulators etc Standards converters, modulators anything else for providing signals to vintage televisions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11th Jan 2020, 6:07 pm   #1
ennislove
Diode
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: Fallowfield, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 1
Question Connecting my Cadet TV to my Mac laptop???

I want to transfer visuals to my vintage Cadet TV however I'm not sure what cables I needs as the TV does not have HDMI. So I'd therefore need an adapter.

If anyone know, would be a massive help, thank you!!

The model number of the TV is CM6519A
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4556.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	59.7 KB
ID:	196900   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_4555.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	54.2 KB
ID:	196901  
ennislove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2020, 6:10 pm   #2
Station X
Moderator
 
Station X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ipswich, Suffolk, IP4, UK.
Posts: 15,512
Default Re: Connecting my Cadet TV to my Mac laptop???

Hello and welcome to the forums.

Does the TV have any inputs apart from the loop aerial?

What video outputs does the Mac have?
__________________
Graham. Forum Moderator

Keep the soldering iron hot.
Station X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2020, 7:59 pm   #3
toshiba tony
Heptode
 
toshiba tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Accrington, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 607
Default Re: Connecting my Cadet TV to my Mac laptop???

The Cadet only had RF in, however, it had a mains transformer that provided mains isolation. Finding a suitable place to inject video and audio should be easy.
toshiba tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2020, 8:19 pm   #4
Nuvistor
Dekatron
 
Nuvistor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Wigan, Greater Manchester, UK.
Posts: 7,489
Default Re: Connecting my Cadet TV to my Mac laptop???

Unless you have a compelling reason to use the Cadet it would be simpler and probably not much difference in cost to get a computer monitor. Amazon have them for 60-70, cables and converters could be could be more than half that cost.
If the Mac laptop is less than 10 years old it will probably have a Display Port of some sort, connectors changed with the age of the model.
__________________
Frank
Nuvistor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2020, 8:40 pm   #5
paulsherwin
Moderator
 
paulsherwin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 19,050
Default Re: Connecting my Cadet TV to my Mac laptop???

You can buy HDMI-composite video adapters for a.few pounds from eBay sellers, but you will need to squirt the video/audio into a UHF modulator to use the RF input. You can use an old VCR to provide the modulator, but it's a bit bulky.
paulsherwin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th Jan 2020, 11:24 pm   #6
toshiba tony
Heptode
 
toshiba tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Accrington, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 607
Default Re: Connecting my Cadet TV to my Mac laptop???

Yes, I wondered about the desire to use a tv like that for display purposes.
toshiba tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2020, 2:06 am   #7
19Seventy7
Heptode
 
19Seventy7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: London, UK.
Posts: 818
Default Re: Connecting my Cadet TV to my Mac laptop???

Hi,

It's possible, I do this myself occasionally.

I use a VGA to Composite converter, my modulator has composite, which converts it to RF. I'd assume the Macbooks have VGA out.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/PC-Laptop...72.m2749.l2649

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B018LKA4...ing=UTF8&psc=1

I'm not associated with either seller, these are just what I use, and could be an option for you.

Hope that helps
'77
19Seventy7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th Jan 2020, 2:25 am   #8
arjoll
Nonode
 
arjoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Invercargill, New Zealand
Posts: 2,666
Default Re: Connecting my Cadet TV to my Mac laptop???

Quote:
Originally Posted by 19Seventy7 View Post
I use a VGA to Composite converter, my modulator has composite, which converts it to RF. I'd assume the Macbooks have VGA out.
No, Macbooks have never had VGA out! It'll be something like Mini Displayport or Thunderbolt.

Easiest option would be an adapter to HDMI, then HDMI to composite, then into a modulator.
arjoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th Jan 2020, 8:39 pm   #9
crackle
Dekatron
 
crackle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Basildon, Essex, UK.
Posts: 3,301
Default Re: Connecting my Cadet TV to my Mac laptop???

Wont the picture quality be poor and very low resolution compared to a laptop screen.
Mike
__________________
BVWS Member
The KB Museum

My collection in the Radio Museum
crackle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th Jan 2020, 12:30 am   #10
arjoll
Nonode
 
arjoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Invercargill, New Zealand
Posts: 2,666
Default Re: Connecting my Cadet TV to my Mac laptop???

Quote:
Originally Posted by crackle View Post
Wont the picture quality be poor and very low resolution compared to a laptop screen.
Yes, but I assume the OP would probably be doing it for effect, not a high quality image.

They may even be trying to achieve something like this where the producer borrowed an old Pye TV from me; in that case they cheated by superimposing the image in post, but it's possible the OP is wanting to do something live.
arjoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 7:58 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2020, Paul Stenning.