UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc)

Notices

Vintage Audio (record players, hi-fi etc) Amplifiers, speakers, gramophones and other audio equipment.

Closed Thread

Old 21st Aug 2016, 4:46 pm   #1
newstart
Triode

Default Dansette HI-FI

Hi all.
I have no knowledge of the workings of record players i'm afraid.
Turning on my Dansette HI-FI record player yesterday I found I had no volume, you could faintly hear the record playing down near the cartridge. I did notice that the two valves were not lit up (I think they usually are ?) I took both valves out and I think they are BRIMAR ECL82. I had the player serviced up in Leicester about 2years ago. The turntable is a Garrard AT6. Any ideas please.
Regards.....Dave.
Old 21st Aug 2016, 5:00 pm   #2
Station X

Default Re: Dansette HI-FI

Are you sure the valves are not lighting up? You may have to observe them from the right angle in the dark to see.

There are two reasons why valves don't light up. Blown (open circuit) heaters, or failure of the Low Tension (LT) power supply.

You can easily check for blown heaters by measuring the resistance between pins 4 and 5 of the valve, which must be removed from the player in order to carry out the test. Valve pins number clockwise from the gap when viewed from under the chassis.

http://www.r-type.org/exhib/aaa0052.htm

Low resistance (a few ohms) indicates a good heater.
Infinite resistance indicates a blown heater.

Before making the test, touch you meter's leads together so you know what a low resistance looks like.

Report results and we'll advise you what to do next.

Reach for your meter before you reach for your soldering iron.
Old 21st Aug 2016, 5:06 pm   #3
Station X

Circuit here:-

https://www.vintage-radio.net/forum/...0&postcount=20