UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Closed Thread

Old 27th May 2023, 4:42 pm   #1
PenroseHouse
Triode

Default Amstrad CM14 CRT computer monitor - blank screen

Hello all, I am new here. I'm not a hardware guy, I'm a programmer, so plain English please!

NOTE: My father is an electrician and can help me discharge the monitor. I have also watched several YouTube videos on this.

I just bought an Amstrad CM14 CRT monitor on eBay. New old stock, immaculate.

I plug in a VHS video player, or my MiSTer Multisystem computer, either way using a special RGB SCART lead I bought from a website called Cool Novelties, designed for plugging modern computers into a CM14.

I get perfect stereo sound.

The screen remains blank, doesn't really look like black pixels, just ... nothingness. However, when I switch it off, I get that shrinking white oblong flash you expect when you switch off a CRT.

I haven't opened it up yet. Could it be a loose connection, maybe something came loose when it was shipped? If not is it worth changing the capacitors?

Two questions that may help:

1 Should there be any kind of test card screen? eg my 1980s Commodore shows red, green and blue and NO SIGNAL if nothing is plugged in.

2 There are three leads: the power lead, the image input lead that the SCART lead plugs into, with several pins ... and a third lead, very small round end - what is that third lead for? I think keyboard ... if so, does the monitor refuse to work without one?

Thank you for any help!

Aiden Smith
Old 27th May 2023, 6:15 pm   #2
Maarten
Dekatron

Default Re: Amstrad CM14 CRT computer monitor - blank screen