UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Television and Video

Notices

Vintage Television and Video Vintage television and video equipment, programmes, VCRs etc.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 11:43 am   #1
kayler333
Triode
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK.
Posts: 34
Default Philips 22cs1002

Hi all just picked up a philips k30 chassis tv it's all great apart from a vertical colour line though the picture, it's OK on raster but when tuned to my vhs the line is visible any suggestions?
kayler333 is offline  
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 2:16 pm   #2
kayler333
Triode
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK.
Posts: 34
Default Re: Philips 22cs1002

Here's a couple of pictures
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20210422_150641.jpg
Views:	178
Size:	62.4 KB
ID:	232389   Click image for larger version

Name:	20210422_150637.jpg
Views:	168
Size:	48.8 KB
ID:	232390  
kayler333 is offline  
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 2:31 pm   #3
Heatercathodeshort
Dekatron
 
Heatercathodeshort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warnham, West Sussex. 10 miles south of DORKING.
Posts: 7,977
Default Re: Philips 22cs1002

That is really weird and I don't think I have ever seen a fault like that before.
At first sight it looks like a screen burn that may have been caused by a dry joint line lin coil giving a line collapse but your pictures don't show this on the coloured parts and it appears to be off center.

If it only displays this when playing back VHS tapes it might be some strange incompatibility between the VCR and the TV. I presume you are playing it back via the VCR button on the K30?

It could be a mechanical fault within the CRT but a first for me. No doubt you will get a better answer from another TV guy. They are a clever lot! John.
Heatercathodeshort is offline  
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 2:38 pm   #4
peter_scott
Nonode
 
peter_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Edinburgh, UK.
Posts: 2,796
Default Re: Philips 22cs1002

I don't suppose it is a visual indication of the carrier frequency generated by the video modulator or possibly the frequency its receiver is tuned to? Perhaps the video is in a tuning mode?

Peter
peter_scott is online now  
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 2:55 pm   #5
Welsh Anorak
Dekatron
 
Welsh Anorak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North Wales, UK.
Posts: 5,423
Default Re: Philips 22cs1002

If you'd shown me the picture without the TV I'd have said it was an LCD set with a screen fault!
Can we have a look at the TV displaying 'snow'? Also does it vary with the channel position you're using?
I agree - it's not something I've seen before. If possible try another signal source, such as a Freeview box with modulator, and maybe try moving the VCR off the top of the TV.
I think you can hear us all clutching at straws here...
__________________
Glyn
www.gdelectronics.wales
Welsh Anorak is offline  
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 3:04 pm   #6
kayler333
Triode
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK.
Posts: 34
Default Re: Philips 22cs1002

Thankyou for your replies, I have tried another vcr in a different tuning position and it's just the same,will put a picture of the raster up for you
kayler333 is offline  
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 3:08 pm   #7
kayler333
Triode
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK.
Posts: 34
Default Re: Philips 22cs1002

There's no line on the raster and when tv is switched off there's no line on the screen
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20210422_160513.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	74.9 KB
ID:	232391   Click image for larger version

Name:	20210422_160508.jpg
Views:	107
Size:	69.9 KB
ID:	232392  
kayler333 is offline  
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 3:41 pm   #8
gallowfields
Pentode
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Durham, County Durham, UK.
Posts: 111
Default Re: Philips 22cs1002

as glyn suggests, i would also try the vcr on the floor to start with .once had a very similar situation many years ago with a sharp vc7700 .the vcr sat on a shelf in the tv cabine t under the tv and the gap was too small cured with foil under the tv cabinet
gallowfields is offline  
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 4:01 pm   #9
kayler333
Triode
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK.
Posts: 34
Default Re: Philips 22cs1002

Vcr is now on the floor away from tv but it hasn't worked line is still present
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20210422_165842.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	54.0 KB
ID:	232393  
kayler333 is offline  
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 4:03 pm   #10
Welsh Anorak
Dekatron
 
Welsh Anorak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: North Wales, UK.
Posts: 5,423
Default Re: Philips 22cs1002

This is very strange. There's a slight lack of width, and I wonder if there might be a power supply fault that's somehow interfering with the VCR?
Is there any other sounce you could try - maybe another VCR or similar?
__________________
Glyn
www.gdelectronics.wales
Welsh Anorak is offline  
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 4:11 pm   #11
Nickthedentist
Dekatron
 
Nickthedentist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Oxford, UK.
Posts: 15,538
Default Re: Philips 22cs1002

The vertical line reminds me of the tuning indication found on a particular early 80s Hitachi mono portable.

Like everyone else, I’ve never seen one of these do that.
Nickthedentist is offline  
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 4:12 pm   #12
kayler333
Triode
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK.
Posts: 34
Default Re: Philips 22cs1002

I've tried 2 vcrs and tried tuning them on different channels but it's just the same it does appear to be something with the tv rather than the version, both versions check out OK on my old hitachi set
kayler333 is offline  
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 4:13 pm   #13
kayler333
Triode
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK.
Posts: 34
Default Re: Philips 22cs1002

It is frustrating because otherwise the tv is in perfect condition
kayler333 is offline  
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 4:18 pm   #14
kayler333
Triode
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK.
Posts: 34
Default Re: Philips 22cs1002

Just tried it with my old atari 2600 and yes I'm afraid the line is there
kayler333 is offline  
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 4:25 pm   #15
Simon Gittins
Hexode
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Cornwall, UK.
Posts: 285
Default Re: Philips 22cs1002

As per post 3, are you using the dedicated VCR button?

If not, try it and if you are, try another one. This just might give a clue (although it has me puzzled at the moment).
Simon Gittins is offline  
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 4:40 pm   #16
kayler333
Triode
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lowestoft, Suffolk, UK.
Posts: 34
Default Re: Philips 22cs1002

Yes I've tried all buttons including channel 8 vcr, the vcrs both work OK with my old hitachi tv
kayler333 is offline  
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 5:54 pm   #17
Sideband
Dekatron
 
Sideband's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Croydon, Surrey, UK.
Posts: 6,166
Default Re: Philips 22cs1002

Suggestion: Its not visible on a snowy raster because there is no chroma present. Looking at the first pictures it appears that colour (or some colour ) is missing where the strip is. I have seen a similar effect when the decoupling to the supply for the RGB amps is faulty. Suggest check decoupling of RGB driver supply (I think it's a 155V supply from memory) and the decoupler is a 4.7uF 200V. Older circuits might show it as 47uF. Also try any decouplers on the supply to the chroma decoder.

Odd effect admittedly and it led us a merry dance in the old Philips workshop when we first saw it until someone suggested scoping the supplies.....!
__________________
On Spike Milligan's headstone......I told you I was ill...
Sideband is offline  
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 6:59 pm   #18
Heatercathodeshort
Dekatron
 
Heatercathodeshort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Warnham, West Sussex. 10 miles south of DORKING.
Posts: 7,977
Default Re: Philips 22cs1002

Can you display a live picture via a digibox? You may be able to connect it via your VCR if it does not have an RF output. The problem being that it will introduce the VCR as a link and somewhat defeat the elimination of the VCR. John.
Heatercathodeshort is offline  
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 8:02 pm   #19
peter_scott
Nonode
 
peter_scott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Edinburgh, UK.
Posts: 2,796
Default Re: Philips 22cs1002

If the TV performs auto-tuning try running it again and watch what happens on the screen.

Peter
peter_scott is online now  
Old 22nd Apr 2021, 8:11 pm   #20
slidertogrid
Octode
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, UK.
Posts: 1,273
Default Re: Philips 22cs1002

It is certainly a strange fault! Is the chip on the decoder board fitted in a holder or soldered into the board? The IC holders used to cause odd effects on the text versions. I suppose you could try cleaning the edge connectors on the decoder and RGB boards? if you turn the colour control right down is the line still there on the monochrome picture?
slidertogrid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:06 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2021, Paul Stenning.