UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment

Notices

Vintage Test Gear and Workshop Equipment For discussions about vintage test gear and workshop equipment such as coil winders.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26th Mar 2020, 4:12 pm   #1
jimmc101
Heptode
 
jimmc101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portsmouth, Hampshire, UK.
Posts: 636
Default Computron monochrome raster display

I'm trying to repair an IFR A-8000 spectrum analyser with an intermittent total loss of the display.
I believe the display module is the same as the A-7550 which I have the service manual for.
Access to the display module is difficult so I would like an idea where the fault is before starting to dismantle the unit. (i.e. Display module or Video Processor)

The display is Computron 115-35 DMK7 from 1987 I've attached an excerpt from the schematic and a drawing of the PCB.

I would appreciate any information on the display and in particular the type number of IC101.
I assume that the display should produce a raster in the absence of sync pulses, is that correct?

Of course if anyone has a service manual for the A-8000 then it would make my day. (I already have the operating manual.)

Jim
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Circuit.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	52.4 KB
ID:	201631   Click image for larger version

Name:	PCB.jpg
Views:	41
Size:	200.5 KB
ID:	201632  
jimmc101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2020, 5:49 pm   #2
TonyDuell
Dekatron
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Biggin Hill, London, UK.
Posts: 3,573
Default Re: Computron monochrome raster display

Where does the signal you've labelled 'Horiz Drive' go?

The fact that there are no frequency/hold controls on the bit of circuit you've posted (as far as I can see, it's not easy to read) suggests to me that there are no vertical/horizontal oscillators there. Which means the monitor section may well need the 'sync' signals from the processor PCB to do anything.
TonyDuell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2020, 7:59 pm   #3
jimmc101
Heptode
 
jimmc101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portsmouth, Hampshire, UK.
Posts: 636
Default Re: Computron monochrome raster display

Thanks for the reply.

The 'Horiz drive' goes to a driver transistor which is transformer coupled to the line output stage. To my untutored eye the whole circuit looks very similar to a section of a monochrome TV of that era.

Having spent some time looking at the construction of the analyser it looks as if it is more easy to access display module than the video processor so that's my plan for tomorrow.
Construction is similar to A7550 as shown in the attachment.

Jim
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A7550.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	71.8 KB
ID:	201653  
jimmc101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2020, 9:31 pm   #4
McMurdo
Dekatron
 
McMurdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Staffordshire Moorlands, UK.
Posts: 3,781
Default Re: Computron monochrome raster display

many embedded monitors are like as tony has suggested. Without the sync pulses (at least, the horizontal) they often won't run at all.

A disadvantage of this is when trying to get the monitor to run when on its own. If you're guessing the frequencies, you can have the monitor take excessive current or even flash over as it runs at whatever you feed it.
__________________
Kevin
McMurdo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th Mar 2020, 11:24 pm   #5
jimmc101
Heptode
 
jimmc101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portsmouth, Hampshire, UK.
Posts: 636
Default Re: Computron monochrome raster display

Thanks for that, I shall have to try and make up an extension cable so that I can run the display out of its housing.
It's either that or program a microprocessor to provide sync pulses.
I've found elsewhere in the manual that V sync is a 19.608kHz square wave.
I can't find V sync but it doesn't matter it's shorted out by the link across C116A . (This is a deliberate mod listed elsewhere on the schematic.)

Jim
jimmc101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th Mar 2020, 9:08 pm   #6
jimmc101
Heptode
 
jimmc101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portsmouth, Hampshire, UK.
Posts: 636
Default Re: Computron monochrome raster display

I managed to get it apart and found that a lot of corrosive glue had been used to hold large components and cables down.

The ribbon cable in the picture connects to the CRT base and the worst corrosion occurred on the G2 conductor, same at the other end.

IC101 remains a mystery, It really annoys me when manufacturers sand off markings.


Jim
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CRUD.jpg
Views:	22
Size:	68.8 KB
ID:	201687  
jimmc101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 5:54 pm.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2020, Paul Stenning.