UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio and TV Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Radio (domestic)

Notices

Vintage Radio (domestic) Domestic vintage radio (wireless) receivers only.

Closed Thread

Old 10th Nov 2018, 1:04 am   #1
Johnbarn
Pentode

Default Grundig 2068

I got this set given to me several months ago but have only started work on it this week. I downloaded the circuit diagram which called it a "Pembroke" and gave it the Model number 2068/3D but it looks pretty close to what I have. I have never worked on a Grundig before and the circuit is quite odd and it is laid out in the European DIN style. The Grundig components in the set were quite distinctive and marked with clearly readable values. Initial testing through my lamp dropper showed a heavy current drain. The two 50uF electolytics in the one can had leaked and whilst one was ok the other was showing a low resistance on an AVO. They were replaced. The HT was low and the Siemens bridge was replaced with a chunky one from RS. Further testing through the lamp dropper gave the right result - initial glow followed by a low dim. When the lamp bypass switch was closed the set gave a promising hum and one station could just be heard on MW. Then there was a wisp of smoke and I switched off immediately. The smoke was traced to a 22k 1/2 watt resistor R37 on the diagram feeding a second LS acting as an electrostatic tweeter(? - it is shown in the circuit diagram with a capacitor symbol internal to the unit).This resistor was not an original Grundig one but a typical UK three-band plus silver component the bands of which were burned. There was also a Dubilier capacitor for C70, again not a Grundig original. I tested the capacitor and it was fine. I then removed the resistor and it was reading low. I replaced it with a new one and retested the set. Again smoke from the same resisto