UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Powered By Google Custom Search Vintage Radio Service Data

Go Back   UK Vintage Radio Repair and Restoration Discussion Forum > Specific Vintage Equipment > Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players

Notices

Vintage Tape (Audio), Cassette, Wire and Magnetic Disc Recorders and Players Open-reel tape recorders, cassette recorders, 8-track players etc.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 7th Mar 2012, 3:19 pm   #1
abcdefg1
Diode
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 5
Default Akai 4000DS cam set

Some time ago I read that one of the contributors to this forum was planning to come up with a solution to the perennial shattered Akai tape transport cam problem on the 4000DS and I believe on other mechanically operated Akai machines too.

I contacted a company in Montana USA (Reel Pro Sound Guys) who were at that time supplying them but had some problem with mailing them to the UK - no doubt they're sold out by now. Could I ask if anyone who has an interest in this issue has made any headway with this before I consign my otherwise perfectly sound machine to the scrap heap. I have to be absolutely sure that all hope of restoring it to functionality is gone. I'm afraid I am one of those people that can't bear to throw anything away!

Any advice would be gratefully received.
abcdefg1 is offline  
Old 9th Mar 2012, 7:53 pm   #2
FERNSEH
Dekatron
 
FERNSEH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Gateshead, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 5,932
Default Re: Akai 4000DS cam set

Here's picture of the offending part. As you can see it's well and truly broken up.

DFWB.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AkaiTR.jpg
Views:	1247
Size:	89.1 KB
ID:	63677  
FERNSEH is offline  
Old 9th Mar 2012, 9:53 pm   #3
mrmagnetophon
Heptode
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ohio, USA.
Posts: 757
Default Re: Akai 4000DS cam set

Hello Guys, if i could possibly find someone with a set of the cams, or get some out of a reel to reel, i would be happy to make them out of solid aluminum which i would think would hold up.

-Chris
__________________
If a piece of valve equipment sounds warm, it's not working correctly.
mrmagnetophon is offline  
Old 9th Mar 2012, 11:16 pm   #4
FERNSEH
Dekatron
 
FERNSEH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Gateshead, Tyne and Wear, UK.
Posts: 5,932
Default Re: Akai 4000DS cam set

Hi Cris, The Akai is a beautifully made piece of equipment, it would be a shame to dump it just because a simple part has failed.
A cam made out of alumunium would be last for ever. The gentleman who owns the machine is aware of the problem. I spoke to him this evening and he told me that the original part was made from a "white metal" which is an alloy of lead, antimony, bismuth and other substances.
Many thanks for your offer to make the parts.

DFWB.
FERNSEH is offline  
Old 10th Mar 2012, 12:24 am   #5
mrmagnetophon
Heptode
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ohio, USA.
Posts: 757
Default Re: Akai 4000DS cam set

Hello, I bought a roberts reel to reel, same as the akai- its a 770x if it has the cams fully intact i can copy them and make a few sets for you guys. I don't mind UK or worldwide mailing.

-Chris
__________________
If a piece of valve equipment sounds warm, it's not working correctly.
mrmagnetophon is offline  
Old 10th Mar 2012, 9:15 am   #6
Michael Maurice
Moderator
 
Michael Maurice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Wembley, Middlesex
Posts: 5,779
Default Re: Akai 4000DS cam set

AFAIK The cams differed from deck to deck so your 770 might be different from a 4000DS.

I think there were differences between the 3000D, 4000D and 4000DS
__________________
Forum Moderator

http://www.michaelmauricerepairs.co.uk/
Michael Maurice is offline  
Old 10th Mar 2012, 9:16 am   #7
mrmagnetophon
Heptode
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ohio, USA.
Posts: 757
Default Re: Akai 4000DS cam set

Hmm, well if anyone has a pair to send to me, to copy I would happily do so, until then I'll try my best to find info.
-Chris
__________________
If a piece of valve equipment sounds warm, it's not working correctly.
mrmagnetophon is offline  
Old 10th Mar 2012, 9:45 am   #8
DOFFERY
Octode
 
DOFFERY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 1,488
Default Re: Akai 4000DS cam set

If you wish to become involved in the past confusing threads on Akai cams , just type in "cams" in the search panel.

Colin.
DOFFERY is offline  
Old 10th Mar 2012, 12:08 pm   #9
tommy6206
Triode
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Barnstaple, North Devon, UK.
Posts: 40
Default Re: Akai 4000DS cam set

Quote:
Originally Posted by FERNSEH View Post
Here's picture of the offending part. As you can see it's well and truly broken up.
My 2nd Akai deck had the same cam go but I managed to pick one up of ebay in the states.I have still yet to fit it as its my 2nd 4000ds there's no rush .You need to look on there every week.
tommy6206 is offline  
Old 13th Mar 2012, 2:30 pm   #10
DOFFERY
Octode
 
DOFFERY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 1,488
Default Re: Akai 4000DS cam set

I have a few cams left for the 4000 series, including one as illustrated above , any interest pm me.

Colin.
DOFFERY is offline  
Old 14th Mar 2012, 7:44 pm   #11
abcdefg1
Diode
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 5
Thumbs up Re: Akai 4000DS cam set

Hi Colin, Could you say if you have any cams left and how much you want in terms of payment. I need to know now whether or not it is going to be cost effective to effect the repair. I want to restore the 4000DS but not at any cost obviously. I guess the fewer you have left the more valuable they will be!! Thanks for taking the trouble to post your response by the way. Chris D
abcdefg1 is offline  
Old 15th Mar 2012, 9:26 am   #12
DOFFERY
Octode
 
DOFFERY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 1,488
Default Re: Akai 4000DS cam set

Chris D,
email sent.

Colin.
DOFFERY is offline  
Old 16th Mar 2012, 12:42 am   #13
abcdefg1
Diode
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 5
Default Re: Akai 4000DS cam set

Hi Colin, sorry to be a nuisance - Have hunted high and low for your email but am now not sure where to look for it. Its not in my usual inbox and I can't see it in the private messages on this forum. I have located and purchased the fast forward and rewind cam (right hand lever) so just need the record/play cam (left hand lever) to complete the repair. If you can help I would be ecstatic!!

Chris D.
abcdefg1 is offline  
Old 16th Mar 2012, 8:39 am   #14
DOFFERY
Octode
 
DOFFERY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 1,488
Default Re: Akai 4000DS cam set

Chris , have sent you another email, if not received email me. Yes I have the cam you require.

Colin.
DOFFERY is offline  
Old 16th Mar 2012, 12:57 pm   #15
abcdefg1
Diode
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 5
Default Re: Akai 4000DS cam set

Colin, its just dawned on me that your emails may be getting delivered to my work email address at Bath Spa University. I'm at home at present and my email address is: email-removed@forum.rules.com

I'm really sorry for the confusion if this is what's happened.

Chris D.
abcdefg1 is offline  
Old 24th Mar 2012, 11:00 pm   #16
abcdefg1
Diode
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Bristol, UK.
Posts: 5
Default Re: Akai 4000DS cam set

I would just like to say a big thank you to all who contributed to this thread. As a result of the advice I have been able to obtain the parts I need - one from the USA and one (and a few other parts) from the UK. Brilliant! (Thanks DOFFERY and tommy6206 particularly but also appreciated is the interest of mrmagnetophon, Michael Maurice and FERNSEH)
abcdefg1 is offline  
Old 27th Mar 2012, 9:31 am   #17
DOFFERY
Octode
 
DOFFERY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 1,488
Default Re: Akai 4000DS cam set

How nice & what a change to find a thank you from a forum member, all too often much time & effort is made to offer support to queries, but many long threads just "end", with no result mentioned.

Colin.
DOFFERY is offline  
Old 25th Jun 2012, 4:24 pm   #18
RBoucher111
Diode
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Overland Park, Kansas, USA.
Posts: 2
Default Re: Akai 4000DS cam set

Greetings Colin,

Im looking for a play/record cam for the 4000DS. Might you still have one left? Ill send a PM as well.

thx.

Bobby
RBoucher111 is offline  
Old 26th Jun 2012, 1:31 pm   #19
DOFFERY
Octode
 
DOFFERY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK.
Posts: 1,488
Default Re: Akai 4000DS cam set

Sorry Bobby out of stock at present, hoping to obtain new supply in the near future, will keep you in mind.

Colin.
DOFFERY is offline  
Old 26th Jun 2012, 2:24 pm   #20
RBoucher111
Diode
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Overland Park, Kansas, USA.
Posts: 2
Default Re: Akai 4000DS cam set

Please do... thanks!
RBoucher111 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 6:40 am.


All information and advice on this forum is subject to the WARNING AND DISCLAIMER located at https://www.vintage-radio.net/rules.html.
Failure to heed this warning may result in death or serious injury to yourself and/or others.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright ©2002 - 2020, Paul Stenning.